April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bucket

by ChrisGaudino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD. Time flew, and I didn't get anywhere near where I wanted. Still, I'm pretty happy with what I accomplished, and I'm very excited to get some feedback on it.

Controls:
- Left and right arrows bank the helicopter left and right.
- Hold the up arrow to increase thrust.
- Hold the space bar to dump the bucket.

Tips:
- Slow movements are key. Once the bucket starts swinging, it'll yank you around.
- The bucket gets heavier as you fill it up. When it is full, the helicopter is barely powerful enough to lift it. Don't bank too much or you won't be able to maintain altitude!

I intended to implement a leaderboard, but ran out of time. If you want to test your skills anyway, my records are:

- Easy: 1 bucket
- Medium: 3 buckets
- Hard: 12 buckets

Edit: Some people are having trouble with the controls. I tweaked them to be much more forgiving and responsive on the easy and medium difficulties. Please, rate the game on the original version. I would appreciate it if you could also play the new version and give me some feedback on the changes. It is available here:
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7666226/Bucket%20WebPlayer_0.2/Bucket%20WebPlayer_0.2.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#416Graphics3.24
#509Humor2.29
#553Overall3.17
#599Innovation3.07
#684Mood2.75
#720Fun2.80
#761Audio2.35
#1105Theme2.88

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

This was pretty funny. Also really well executed and simple (in a good way). Good job!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

I love Choplifter style games. :) Fun, although the controls felt really syrupy and frustrating.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Fun! But real hard to control :(

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Yeah, hard to control, but it looks and plays well!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

this was cool. i liked how realistic the helicopter felt. it was really hard, but then again, real helicopters are also really hard to fly.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Thanks for the feedback everybody. I was going for a control and physics setup that was at least vaguely rooted in reality. They are kind of mushy because the heavy bucket yanks against your control inputs. Definitely still needs some tweaking. I've had several friends play it now, and its turning out to be a you love it or you hate it type situation.

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12am

Love it, fun but feels a little slow to control.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

great concept but the flying controls are way to difficult imho.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Love the game. It is a little hard to control but I am guessing that is the point. Might tweak it a bit though. I also managed to crash in mid air. I think I made the bucket hit the helicopter?

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Agreed on the controls issue. Great job though!

shama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very cool. Maybe an indicator for tilt/velocity to gauge the controls better?

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really nice-looking game, congrats on your first LD!

I quite enjoyed playing, and had a lot of near-misses which got me nervous :)

Didn't stick with it very long, but an enjoyable experience

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really challenging, but I won't say I didn't like it. Nice visuals!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Thanks everybody.

Haversack: Yes, if the bucket or rope gets up into the rotorblades of the helicopter, that will make you crash.

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25pm

with some changes in controls this coud have been awesome! i liked it ;) well done

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Good game. A little bit tough though. I liked the gfx and it fits pretty well the theme.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:47pm

This is a great concept, wish the controls felt a bit more natural.

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I like the look but would have to agree the controls are too difficult. Flying up is too slow and turning is kind of awkward because you tilt a lot before the copter actually turns. Found it pretty funny the bucket can make you crash.

ChrisGaudino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

After rating the game, if you would like to try a post-compo version with easier controls, it is available here: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7666226/Bucket%20WebPlayer_0.2/Bucket%20WebPlayer_0.2.html

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Had a hard time controlling the helicopter. Even on easy mode I crashed :P
The graphics look cool though and if the helicopter was a bit easier to control it would be a great game :D

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Really liked the art. :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Good idea!
The helicopter is a bit too hard and slow to control.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:42am

Great concept, the controls are just a little too hard. I had a hard time getting over the house after filling the bucket.

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

You really tried something unusual here, I like it. The game plays rather slowly though. Also I think it needs something extra to make it really fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]