April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubert J. Boxworth's Wild Stride

by MatClassic - Jam Entry

Cubert J. Boxworth's Wild Stride is a non-stop running game with a simple objective. Achieve the highest score you can! Beware though. There are many obstacles that block your forward path. You must choose the correct ability to remove the obstacle and continue on your journey to greatness. (And a high score on the Potat-o-meter!) Good Luck!

Controls:
G - Turns you Green and is the only way to increase your score.
R - Turns you Red and allows you to break through Boulders.
Y - Turns you Yellow and allows you to cross Haunted Bridges.
B - Turns you Blue and allows you to float on Water.

Right and Left Arrows - These allow you to move forward or backward, giving you more or less time to react. Score increases the farther ahead you are.

ART: Graphics were made using Voxatron and Photoshop.
AUDIO: Sound was made using GarageBand.
CODEBASE: C++

Programmer: Mathew Gould-Dunlop
Designer: Jordan Pickett

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Pretty fun game - I liked the way you cut through the rock and light up the haunted houses. It would have been nice to still see my score on the defeat page though.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Virus scanner reporting a suspicious file. I don't trust the download service, maybe you can move it?

MatClassic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

@DaanVanYperen - I've moved the file to 4shared, I hope that works better for you.

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16pm

May I suggest using Dropbox, downloading it made me install an extension which mess with chrome :S. It changed my homepage and doesn't look very safe :S.

MatClassic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The file is now on Dropbox. If there's anything else I can do, please let me know.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:34am

Can't leave a rating since I don't have a Windows machine.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:02am

Definitely a creative game. I like it.

May 12, 2013 @ 2:39pm

The music in this is amusing, along with Cubert's art. The pacing is fairly smooth, although the speed changes themselves needed to be over a course of a second or two, instead of a sudden increase. Fun game!

Krahe says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very solid game- like color switch mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]