April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ClickStory

by ComicSans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist click-based adventure game meets minimalist text adventure game. Multiple ways to win... is the minimal route the "best"?

[Windows download needs XNA4; redistributable link is above]

P.S. If you finish the game and leave a comment, it'd be neat if you mentioned your character's final attributes!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#505Humor2.30
#582Innovation3.10
#966Audio1.92
#1003Mood2.40
#1047Theme2.97
#1167Fun2.21
#1197Overall2.45
#1250Graphics2.04

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I couldn't figure out what to do with the Brute =\

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

The brute was very, very confusing. For the record, I had to type in "He admires the brute." Which I believe is the only possible right answer, and it was a 'brute' force (no pun intended) search in trying to figure it out. Lots of potential for a text/click adventure, though, and good use of the theme.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Interesting concept. I had to read comments to realize you could type in commands. It would be good if there were SOME guidance on what sorts of actions you could take (I tried several without success). I definitely like the mixed click/text format, though. Nice job!

scriptorum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The interface needs some work. It's difficult to tell that at certain spots you can type in input and where/how you should enter it. I got to the mysterious boss, tried typing "He calms the boss" since I had the calming wand, and it said "suddenly, nothing happened." After this I couldn't do any more data entry or get responses from clicking on anything. (On Chrome.)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Some guidance probably was needed, I got stuck at the brute too and tried a few things before giving up and coming back here. Not a bad attempt, but I also feel that the lack of guidance of any kind hindered rather than helped.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I really liked that you had to type what to do. Would have liked it to be more than once thou ;) Nice prototype!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very short, I had to read the comments to get past the brute. Otherwise a well implemented point and click (and occasionally type)

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I like the concept and the style fits well with the theme. As others mentioned though the interface needs a bit of work to make it more intuitive.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Thanks for all the encouragement! If you're frustrated or interested in exploring the game more, note that there are two distinct ways to interact with every character.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Bla bla interface bla bla. Love the game! I have s a soft spot for point and click adventures.

itsZN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I really like how it is both point and click and textbased at the same time. Nice implementation of that.

drkrunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Wow, I really liked this a lot. I also had to read comments to figure out what to do after the Brute. I was vicious, violent and tricky :)

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I love how you've managed to blend point-and-click and text adventures together. Oh and I got "Vicious, Violent and Thoughtful" on my playthrough. I must be the kindest murderer ever XD

Dans17 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Very nice idea but hard to think of exactly what to say. Maybe a list of possible commands would help.

Jun 5, 2013 @ 5:34am

From looking at the screen shots I mistakenly thought that the game was text input only and I spent a few frustrating minutes trying to figure out valid inputs. Eventually I realized that you could click on things as well and that helped out a great deal. I think that I figured out all the commands as I was able to easily defeat the boss two different ways. It was frustrating enough that defeating the boss was satisfying, but if it had been any more cryptic I probably would have given up. As it is, there's almost no instructions for the user - I guess the point is that you have to figure out not just how to win, but how to play as well.

Jun 5, 2013 @ 5:41am

One other thing. When I was trying to figure out the commands at some point I found a Reality Foil inside the chest. I wasn't able to figure out what I did to get it. Eventually I gave up and looked at the source. Nice debug override.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]