April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Avoid

by jm77345 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made for the Ludum Dare 26,
in 48 hours and completed on 28/04/2013.
So when I was thinking of what to do for the
Ludum Dare, I thought that I was going to
use Java. Then I got a little confused and
decided to use Gamemaker. I had never used
GM before so it was a risk. I spent about 6
hours learning my way around the program
and then on the second day I made this game.
It's pretty buggy but fun to make. I may
continue this project after LD26 but I ran out
of sprites so I need to buy the full version.
Enjoy!

Also, the menu buttons on the main menu don't
work because I ran out of sprites and couldn't
animate the rollover and pressed versions.

If you would like me to continue with the
game then email me jm77345@gmail.com
and I will take any criticism/thoughts.

Controls
W,A,S,D - Movement
Arrow Keys - Movement
ESC - End game

Thanks!

************************************
Updated download links to Dropbox for ease of access
Enjoy!
************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#803Theme3.29
#889Audio2.11
#973Graphics2.50
#1054Fun2.40
#1194Mood2.00
#1209Overall2.43
#1299Innovation1.83

Comments

jm77345 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:12pm

If you want to download it and you don't know how to use drive, click File and then Download.

kyru says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Interesting concept. Could have used a timer or something to gauge how well one is doing.

jm77345 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Thanks for the idea. I'm going to revamp the game and continue development. I might add more levels/difficulties but thanks for the feedback

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I miss not being able to move diagonally.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Interesting, I like the appearance of the blocks. I have two suggestions: First, some kind of total score or indication of how long you've survived. Second, make it possible to move diagonally. Hope to see you continue working on this!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Diagonal movement and and score counter would have really improved this, but not bad for a first try with the program. The collision sound is a bit annoying though.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Interesting game, controls are a little annoying.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

"Invalid zip file" - Can't run.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Your zip file appears to be borked.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

BUG: I slipped through the wall boundary, and never got hit anymore.

jm77345 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Try the google drive links:
Windows: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-pUvrxtFr73VDZkOUtDYS1Ic00/edit?usp=sharing
Source: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-pUvrxtFr73MjVaUkl3WDhsUkU/edit?usp=sharing

My file system is bugged so any files require special permissions. The drive ones I uploaded earlier should work. And yes I found that bug and will fix it in the new version after LD26

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Error (404)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It's a cute little thing. I like the nippy feel of the character. The effect on the blocks, while cool, is really straining on the eyes.

good luck with your future GMing. It's pretty handy.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

404

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

The link above gives me a 404. The Google Drive link downloads a .gmz-file, which I have no idea what to do with. :/

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

For some reason, I can't play this game. When I try to download it, your Dropbox gives me a 404 error. Did you move or delete the file from your Dropbox folder?

jm77345 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Try the link again. I think I fixed it.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

It says that the zipped folder is empty. If it helps, I'm on Windows 7.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Perfect example of sticking to the theme. Though I wouldn't say it's very innovative, it's still very fun!

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Basically what everyone, else said, better movement, wall glitch, annoying sound and funky colors (that's not a bad thing).
Seems more like a "Learn-GameMaker"-Test, but hey, that's what LD is there for: to try out something new and motivate yourself.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

I liked the speed increase, until it got crazy fast! Instead of just the speed increase, I was expecting the walls to close in. Like others have said, some kind of timer/counter to try to keep me playing to beat my best.

The main character was a tad small for an old-timer like myself. But overall I liked the simplicity.

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47pm

.zip is broken, link in comments point to a .gmz (maybe need gamemaker to run that?)
Didn't voted.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

Pretty good entry for a first run with game-maker, but like other have said, diagonal movement and a timer would have really improved it!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:16am

Argh, my eyes, my beautiful eyes T__T Awesome!

ethankennerly says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:28am

Sorry, it says the zip file is invalid (didn't vote).

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:47pm

The red square become crazy almost all the time.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:53am

when i first start out, i have no idea who or what i am. where's the fun??

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Says zip is invalid. :L

Mach60KAS says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very apt, given the theme. It's worth noting that you can move out of the level and simply never die. Still, quite a solid entry! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]