April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Single-button Survivor

by meszka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The title says it all. Survive for as long as you can, avoiding lava and killing off the horrible lava-dwelling zombies!

Controls: Space. Tap to move, hold to rotate, release after holding long enough to shoot.

If for some reason you want to pause, press P.

Made with JavaScript, HTML5 canvas API and Jaws.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Theme4.29
#53Innovation4.00
#293Overall3.44
#408Fun3.15
#626Mood2.80
#871Audio2.15
#983Graphics2.48
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00am

Very neat.

ede says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13am

I like this one!

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

00:02:05 kills, 42 kills. I got dizzy.

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I love the one-button-control concept! Aiming is hard when I can't use arrows to do it!

Great work sticking to the minimalism idea.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Nice - a seemingly complex mechanic that is actually quite easy to master and pull of fancy tricks with. Minimalistic in every sense of the word. It was also a nice touch that shooting a zombie in a group causes the other ones to exploded. Great job!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Love it! One of the best fitting with the theme, plays almost like a comedy! Why not make the viewport bigger so you can see everything?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

great use of the theme and good mechanic..good job :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Love the concept, but the controls make the game very hard...

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This is so cool! I know a lot of people that say one button games can't be fun. This proves them wrong :) I find it amazing how fast one can adapt to this completely uncommon input scheme. Sure, I wouldn't want it for super mario, but this game does it really good.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Big fan of one-switch games. Nice use of the length of key-press for different interactions. Well done! :)

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Very nice use of both the theme and the one-button mechanic. I found it easy to learn and (somewhat) difficult to master, and that's the mark of a great design.

Congratulations! :)

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Wow...another game that would be perfect for touch screens. CocoonJS or Cordova would package it up for you.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:45am

My best was 2:23, 53 kills. A lot of fun using only one key. The movement was the hardest - my finger got tired. Very cool concept; well executed.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:33am

very cool; thought it was gonna be frustrating to control, but it actually works really well once you get used to it: smart

finefin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:42am

I like the concept. Controls are are hard at first but I learned fast (first try 10 seconds, second try 1 minute...)
Fits the theme perfectly in terms of visuals and mechanics. good job :)

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Really liked this one. Unique controls make it super fun. I will definitely play this one again. Great job!

Ty Taylor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:44am

Very clever!

gerritg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:50am

57 kills! Innovative controls! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]