April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You Are, A Shadow

by toonheart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You are, A Shadow" is a brain teasing psychology game written during Ludum Dare #26 or LD48 competition, themed "minimalism".
You are supposed to make "choices", which sometimes are difficult than a "RedPill vs BluePill" question in real life!

Phew! Didn't think I'd make it in time :)


Setup a Facebook Page too :) - https://www.facebook.com/YouAreAShadow

I think I'll expand the game further in near future :D
Stay tune ;)


Credits:
Game Design, Code, Art - Krish <krish@toonheart.com>
Sounds - freesound.org, flashkit.com, bfxr and krish again.


Side Note: I am now going to drop my face on the screen and doze away for 48 hrs. Dozing Dare 48. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Humor3.47
#291Audio3.14
#464Graphics3.16
#555Mood2.88
#630Innovation3.03
#835Fun2.68
#848Overall2.90
#1199Theme2.70
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

DrZanuff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

Construct 2 FTW!

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

@DrZanuff

I see you used the same ;)

Btw, typing in half sleep right now.. will play your game when I'm sane awake and rate it. :D
Likewise, do show some love to my game too :D

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

BTW, everyone playing the game kindly note:

The "Scores" are kinda "pun intended" .. dont take it to the heart buddy.
May be I should have mentioned that ... I'm sure I had a smiley or something in the scores :D

P.S: The algo is based on 13 tests.. what do you expect the accuracy % of the answer would be :D
Please take it as a fun game guys..... its not judging.

Damn.. I dunno why I have to mention this explanation... Sigh!

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

I am 100% goofy, 75% pervert, and 50% greedy :)

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

:D
@Trent ... I feel ya bro ;)

I had someone ask me why he got 100% pervert when he didnt choose the red girl.
Well, there's the brain fuck... you have to watch the level "name" and carefully look at the "other" choice too.

Very Deep thinking (and perhaps faking) required get Saint scores :P

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

@trent

Installing unity player as we speak to rate your game.

Btw, everyone and anyone.. if you want me to play/rate your game please drop a link here. (I am however going around playing couple of entries in half sleep already)

And likewise.. do play mine and share some love on ratings :D

"Oooooooohh.... Yeaaahhhh" <-- that sound ;)

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

very funny, but it needs more potato

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

It's out-there anyway.

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

@tozy hehehe :D

There "was" a potato ... burp!
/me looks towards the sky.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

The music is excellent too !

toonheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Hey everyone, I wrote a mini post mortem of my game to help out on playing it :)

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/29/mini-postmortem-of-you-are-a-shadow/

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I love it. Good style.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

You are 0% kind D:
Cool game though!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I am the pervert! (there were no potatoes to choose...)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I dig this for being different. This is the first game that I come along that surprises me with it's interpretation of minimalism.

DarfnageL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Thia was actually a lot of fun. It's quick, simple, to the point. I love how the decisions become more abstract as the game progresses.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

100% goofy apparently!

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

The ending makes this game, it's a lot of fun to see how each choice will impact the outcome, the audio is good and the game is funny all around. Nice job!

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Always Hamburger! I turned out 100% goofy and 0% everything else HAHA. Diagonal movement would have been nice to have.

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

Funny game... 100% goofy :(

netguy204 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

So... I thought that, being a shadow, I was supposed to provide my services to the things on the screen that were missing shadows (like the cat.) Then I encountered decisions where both objects had a shadow so I just picked the one that looked the friendliest. If both were missing a shadow, I chose the cat. Consistency must be worth something. Turns out that makes me 100% nice and nothing else.

Now that I know what's going on, this kind of reminds me of the conversation with the gypsy that you have at the beginning of most of the Ultima games. But, this is way more abstract. Should I give a shadow to a beer or a cat? Hm. I don't think either care much.

I think what we have here is a case of dissonance. The mechanic (moving a shadow) and the game itself (making a value judgement between two abstract concepts) are incongruous. They don't make sense together and, i think, that's why the game itself doesn't make sense in its current form.

That said: I thought the media elements and presentation (minus the dissonance) was well done. The graphics fit together well. The fades and menus and non-square shape of the window all gave it a sense of polish and thought. The shadow control felt sluggish (but that's not very important.)

I'm of the opinion that a game should create an experience or communicate a message. I think you were going for the latter and I think the message is the message that a mirror tells you. That's a profound and worthy goal and I don't think this hits it yet.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Thanks for the detailed feedback netguy204 :) .. I'm gonna take some of those stuff in consideration when I expand the game later :D

Everyone, please keep your kind ratings and feedback flowing :D

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

@bernhard

:) Intentional restriction with 90 deg movement to fit the 8 bit theme. Let me experiment with a more 360 deg control for the expanded version of the game :D

thanks for feedback. D

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

@EdoMiyamoto gee thanks :D .. total noob at music though.. did music in last 2-3 hrs

@aquilicoco :) thks mate

@sebastian there there.. dont worry mate. :D thanks that you still like the game hehe

@shigor took girls all the time? :D

@timtipgames thanks :D

@DarfnageL ah thank goodness.. another person who is understanding the algorithm in right direction ;)

@FuzzyWuzzie too much soda and burgers :P

@CyberYeti thanks mate :)

@chowdy lol . thanks ;)


Everyone.. I'm going through your games and rating right now :D

Gustera says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

You play with my mind !!!!

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

"No, you are 100% goofy, game!"

The concept of a psychology game is really interesting, but being a shadow may seem that you are hiding one of the options instead of chosing it.

Wulo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

really awesome one, shame it is only playable one, or two times :/

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

@Gustera .. haha :D

@Dohan .. Cheer up mate :)

@Wulo .. thanks :D .. look forward to when I expand and add 100 characters.
Btw, the game has about 9 unique combis you can do if you have to experiment.. but since people will have affinity towards choosing particular set .. the replayability number looks small.
But yes, thats something I should consider when expanding.

Thanks for the feedback :D .. checking yours.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wow, 100% goofy! This is a really smart, well laid-out game. I had a blast! The graphics were fun and the idea of the shadow was seriously original. Love how the pixel art felt like a display exhibit!

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

25% pervert 100% goofy :)

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

@MinionStudios

Ah man, finally someone credits me for stuff a lot of people are missing to see in the game. Thanks mate :)

I checked your game.. horror genre eh.. I will definitely play it once I switch to my windows desktop.. currently working on my linux box for a while.

Do you recommend with lights off? :)

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

@Manuel777 :D

My game has no respect for its own developer.. rates me 100% pervert. I'm going to the bar.. wanna hangout? :)

Whiteclaws says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

The game idea is innovative but the game gets boring after a whie ;)

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

It got some chuckles out of me. :D

I screwed up on the first go, I kept going for cats due to them being cats. Didn't catch the relation with the level titles before it was far too late. :'(

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

@cryovat

Glad you liked it.. just rated your game too. :D

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

This was really great =A Though my personality summed up to 25% where are the other 75%? =P

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

That was kind of funky. I feel like the titles confused things further. "Thirsty?" just amde me wonder why you would drink a cat. And on that subject, alcohol is one of the few liquids that does make you thirstier.

and yet...there was something compelling about it.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Pretty interesting game. Not really seen anything like it for ludum dare before. Pretty hilarious sound effects though!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Amazing concept. A game like this really stands out. Great job!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very interesting kind of game! I liked it a lot, good job! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:50am

very interesting -- 0% nice -- love the graphics and the sound -- great job!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Took me a moment to realize what the game was actually about, picked half of the stuff just based on what looked nice. Guess I need to redo.

It was really interesting, the shadow could perhaps move a bit faster and be able to move diagonally too, though.

meszka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I too thought, that I supposed to give shadows to things that need them at first :D Luckily that influenced only my first choice.
Anyway pretty funny, the ending was a surprise :D
25% pervert, 100% goofy ^^

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:09am

I'm 0% pervert!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I think I mostly misunderstood what was going on and somehow ended up being 0% kind and rather greedy on one playthrough. Hmmm. Food for thought. Liked the presentation though.

May 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

lol dat wink

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]