April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inertia

by Cheezey - Jam Entry

A game with very minimalistic graphics: nothing but circles and lines. But that doesn't mean that it doesn't look awesome. It has great explosions. :)

I'm working on getting a web version of it working, I hope I will. For now, please use the downloadable versions I've posted. Thanks :)

And it supports Windows, Mac and Linux :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#285Audio(Jam)2.88
#352Fun(Jam)2.70
#423Mood(Jam)2.45
#429Graphics(Jam)2.62
#446Innovation(Jam)2.35
#448Overall(Jam)2.67
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Couldn't run getting a cannot find javaw.exe error

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

Nice game, kind of like an asteroids but with mouse control. At some point I didn't know If I was static or I could move around space.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

Cool little game. It took me a while to realize that I was moving though... a little indication would have been nice. It was nice bit of fun, and I loved the explosions.

Cheezey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Thanks for the feedback :3
Yeah I was planning on adding a starfield but I ran out of time

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Couldn't get it to run either as it can't find javaw.exe :-(

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

The lack of moving indications confuses me. Despite that, pretty cool. Sound and graphics apply to the theme ;)

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:53pm

It was a bit confusing with the movement thing. Very minimal. :)

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The explosions really look pretty nice ;) The movement-indication really would have helped.

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I like the idea--finding enemies by their shots and trying to hit them while they're out of sight. In practice, though, there was a lot of time spent where nothing was happening and I wasn't sure if I was going towards or away from all the enemies, then suddenly three enemies would come in all at once and crush me before I could really do anything about it.

So the game needs balancing, but shooting and destroying the enemies is very satisfying. I think you have the sound effects and explosion effects on the enemies to thank for that.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Got up to "pretty good". There is an issue of a lack of feedback. There is nothing really indicating I'm moving, and the enemies pop up too close to dodge. A simple fix of a grid on the ground so you can see movement, and indicators on the edge of the screen that enemies are near in certain directions. Good music though.

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

The game is nice, i like top down shooters :) only bad thing is that movement feels very strange, since i couldnt see wether i was moving or not

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:21am

So much alerts when starts, and doesn't work at chrome. I am always pre-pre-pre-pre-noob

ethankennerly says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:26am

Avoiding fire and shooting the red circles engaged me! If you continue to develop this, I did not know I was moving until there was something around me on screen. Have you considered landmarks? And when I saw shots from offscreen I felt it was a bit unfair. Have you considered scaling down to see further?

May 3, 2013 @ 5:32am

As most have mentioned, the movement is a big issue. That said, I liked the idea of enemies being primarily off-screen, and the way you displayed the health of the player and enemy was a nice visual touch that fit in with the minimalist package. Well done!

May 11, 2013 @ 1:54pm

A nice little game but it definitively needs some more work.
You can't really tell if you're moving in space or standing still and the enemies just seem to run away from you.

Super Hamster says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:46am

Didn't really do anything when I ran it.

kibertoad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:47am

nice take on minimalism.

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:45pm

As has been said, some movement indicator would be helpful. Maybe make movement a bit faster or slow down the enemy gun rotation? It seemed impossible to out maneuver the enemy's gun, so I either tried to outrun them or just soaked all the hits and hoped I hit faster. Interesting idea to make the gun recoil also your propulsion method. Using "click anywhere to continue" was a bit confusing when I was crazy clicking instead of holding the mouse button down. I'd get one frame of game over then I'd be back in the game.... I didn't even realize I had died several times until I realized I should hold the mouse button down. That's when I saw how bad I was at it. =p

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]