April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FlatLandThought

by van noctar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

FlatLand thought the société could be represented bu the simple geometric form. My game represent this thought, at the first level, our character is a line (two vertex), and the ennemies have maximum n+1 vertex. The vertex of our character increment at each level and at the final level, we must fight a circle (perfect shape by Flatland). The only way to escape is enter on an other dimension.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flatland

Space: Put a bomb.
Click for move hero to the mouse position

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1828Coolness22%

Comments

slol7896 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Dosent work...

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

It's against the rules to use art that you did not personally make during the contest. Here's the background: http://digital-art-gallery.com/picture/big/5157

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Try to add some sounds for a better cohesion. Also, if you're using pictures found on the internet, you should consider entering the jam instead. There is a large gap of quality between all the graphical assets, i really think you should use all of the same style

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

The background story adds an intersting mood and humor, otherwise it lacks interest

van noctar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Yes, sorry for background image...

slol7896 : The game works? What are you doing when you run?

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I am stumped by this one, but glad to see you submitted.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Got "unable to access" error :(
Anyway interesting story with background ;)

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I'm not sure how to win :S

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Not sure why you used a cmd to start it or why you added a pause at the end. Also, since it's a .jar, you can name it Cross-platform .jar because it works on most platforms :P

Anyway, I liked the progression of shapes, but it was rather slow.

van noctar says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 9:10am

EatenAlive3 : yes the game is very slow if you want finish it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]