April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

X-Ninja

by adcrusher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fast pace action game with minimal controls that puts your reflexes to the test. Use your ninja star to time the blasts and propel yourself over the walls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#315Humor2.63
#320Graphics3.39
#553Overall3.17
#595Fun2.94
#608Innovation3.06
#931Audio2.00
#945Mood2.48
#984Theme3.06

Comments

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Really hard, but at the same time cool game. It would be easier if there were checkpoints, or there just might not be any at the parts Ive been.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Tough but once you get the hang of it, it's very good =]

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Cool idea, and the animation is great. Really hard game though.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Maybe it's too difficult, but it was challenging enough for me to stay and beat it. Nice work :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Woah, quite challanging. I totally hits the theme in my eyes, as you only need one button. Awesome, but there is some music missing and the game is to hard, but overall I really liked your entry!

bes16 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Really fun game took me about 10 tries to beat and it really fits well with the minimalism theme!

aare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

Nice idea, but quite hard game

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

fun to play, nice jumping animation but its a bit frustrating

Fenyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Great animation quality!

Aside from this, it's interesting but requires a lot of memorization. It's also too hard to time the blasts properly.

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Very difficult but I beat it! I really like the artwork!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Really difficult and kind of aggravating. I liked the graphics.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Wow, really brilliant idea and greatly executed! Job well done!

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Fun but quite hard. Maybe some checkpoints?

May 1, 2013 @ 12:41am

Interesting game bro, i like it! :D ... its also not that hard... for me xD

jellydraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

If anyone has troubles with the game, i was able to find a walkthrough online! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7N-bW8EKWfA. Great game though, 5 stars, loved the graphics!

danpm says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice game, nice idea.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

so hard -- some more hints or maybe some checkpoints would be great -- nice effort and i hope you add some more to it

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I loved the idea, but sometimes it required some awkward shooting, especially right on landing from a jump.

Kudos for making it go right-to-left instead of left-to-right!

GFM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

This was really hard!

Good job.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Cool game! Very neat concept. Well executed. Easy to grasp yet hard to master just like the Ninja-Do ;)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I love it, Here is my feedback, Maybe make the guy at the beginning flash "NOW!" so you know that is the time to press the button. Maybe make the end of the screen kill you,and the bomb will always make you jump. I just hating dieing to learn.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:23am

Full points on theme and innovation. This game really made more out of less.

burtlo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:35am

Enjoyable. At first hard, but then I noticed the subtle cues as to when to throw the stars.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:03am

Nice take on the single button platformer. There were a couple bombs that were extremely challenging, and I got within view of the end numerous times. One complaint/critique is that some of the bombs seemed excessively picky about when you had to throw your star at them. A slightly larger blast radius would probably alleviate that, but then again it might make it all too easy also. Hard to say.

I think this would be an amazing infinite platformer, though I can imagine those are much more difficult to create.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:56pm

It's really hard to catch the right moment, but interesting concept for sure

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]