April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Root Route!

by netpro2k - Jam Entry

We chose to incorporate minimalism via our control scheme.. Its 1 button!

Press space to split your root. Try to collect all 3 nutrients while making your way down to the water table in 10 different levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Innovation(Jam)4.18
#40Overall(Jam)3.84
#46Fun(Jam)3.63
#104Mood(Jam)3.53
#136Audio(Jam)3.39
#137Theme(Jam)3.66
#179Graphics(Jam)3.61
#191Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Great game, well polished, neat mechanic. Good job all around!

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

This is pretty solid in terms of visuals and theme and it's got a nice difficulty to it, but it does get tedious after some time. Also, it's great how gameplay and theme are integrated together

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

I like the simplicity of the controls and it is an interesting mechanic I haven't seen before.

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

This could easily become a very addicting game.

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Love the mechanic and simplicity.

I feel like the game could be sped up though, I stopped playing after the 5th level because it felt too slow.

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

A remarkable gamemeplay that is keeping the player addicted until the very last level. Hats off to you sir.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

ok this is one of the most interesting games i have played -- really unique controls and great use of theme -- great job

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Played this a little too long...

JonRB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

I love it! Really original idea (As far as I know, anyway). I found it pretty challenging. Instructions would have been nice, but apart from that a great entry.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Great game. Fits the theme, has a unique concept. Could do with more vertical visual space. My solution to many of the puzzles was "go as far down as you can and then die so you can see the whole level and plan a route". It was nearly impossible to solve the puzzles reactionarily, especially with the lack of a visible large-scale grid.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Very interesting mechanic!

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

The mechanic has a fundamental longevity and cleverness. I think this could have broad appeal as a fully featured game. I quite like the art as well. Plus you even have nice UI and sound. Props.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18am

Pretty awesome, difficulty is just right although a little hard to see where the roots will go when you split them.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

I like the unique concept. It's fun to play and addictive. Only the music is a little bit repetitive.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Good job. 100%ed it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice puzzles!

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Love it! It's soooo hard tho - I can't figure out the angle while it's moving, but it is great.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:22am

Really nice mechanic. The levels were well designed and quite challenging. The flower blooming at the end depending on how much energy you had was a nice touch.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23am

I really liked this, its one of the most polished games I've played so far

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:27am

Interesting concept, as I have never seen anything like it. Maybe would be nice as an app? :D

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:57am

This is so unique. Well done.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

Solid game! really well done, I just loved the mechanics!

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

Fits theme very well! Very amusing!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

I liked the simple mechanic, but struggled as early as level 2. Perhaps having a better idea what was coming down below would have helped. Also, the larger tile size made it hard to judge exactly when to split. It seemed like there was a perfect solution that I kept missing (as opposed to having a bit more slack). Nice overall!

cason says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36am

Very well done. Its actually fun! Great sound too, fits it perfectly.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:47am

Cool game mechanics on yours. Felt like an old Nintendo game but with a fresh idea.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52am

For a game about growing, the lack of a potato is boring. Great game idea, though. I'd love to see a more fleshed out version of this.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12am

This is easily the most addicting Ludum Dare entry I have seen so far. I was really impressed by your spin on the one-button mechanic that games like Canabalt use.
There are just a few polishing touches needed for this to be almost perfect:
1. The root growing graphics should be smoother and make the location of the root more obvious. While playing, the split point becomes ingrained in the player, but I had to look at the root out of the corner of my eye because the twisting was actually uncomfortable to watch. By the time I finished the game, it took me a few seconds before I stopped having the impression that the game player was rippling.
2. The cool-down time for splitting needs to be made more obvious, or removed. Every time I tapped the spacebar and nothing happened, I felt that the game had unpleasantly ripped control away from me.
3. The level layout needs to be apparent at the start. Angry Birds does this very well with a panning animation. I think that would work well here, too.
In all other respects, a truly phenomenal entry that could easily become a more fully-featured game.

stevejohnson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39am

I seriously enjoyed myself. Well balanced, new, well executed.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

Simply amazing!

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

I really liked this game. First time I see a game like this one. GREAT JOB!

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12am

Pretty decent, Kept me playing until the end. Catchy music too. Good job!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I love how creative and relaxing this game is, the music is gives it a great mood.

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Neat game. Excellent graphics and gameplay, but it gets somewhat tedious after a while.

mrspeaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Great idea, and nicely executed. I agree with Julien though, you should add a "pan down and up" before the level starts, because you kind of feel like the first pass at a level is just a right-off when you're running blind.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really well put together. I ultimately couldn't get passed the last level, even though I understood theoretically how to do it. That is really my only complaint: I felt like even after I grasped what I needed to do doing it was hard past the point of being fun. Still, a well polished game and a great mechanic.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

You wacthed me play, That 1 second cool down for the vines get me, great Innovation and visuals and sounds were great

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43am

I really like the concept of this game, it's pretty original. The graphics are cool and the music is great, good job :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Very good, good level design and gameplay, never seen that before :)

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I like this, neat mechanic. Great job!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice game, well polished. I don't see many jam games.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice game, well polished. I don't see many jam games. Really cool mechanic but it was hard to estimate collisions around objects.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Nice one-button mechanic. Great use of the theme. Solid entry. Congrats!

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Damn this game is rad! Great concept, great audio, nice visuals, and a reaaaaaalllly good use of the theme. There's an incentive to replay levels, too, which ends up giving your game some longevity. Great entry!

Typedeaf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:52am

Fun concept! I really like the pace of the game! Keep up the good work! =A

//Udrian

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:54am

Wonderful idea!

MaxguN says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:59am

Easy to get, yet challenging. I liked it :) Well done

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Cool game. Interesting game mechanic. Congratz!

bummzack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Very simple, yet totally awesome mechanic and gameplay. Well done!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Amazing concept. Loved it, great work!

nicso says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:43pm

a great concept, a little bit repetitive after a while but hey, well done!

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:20am

Anticipating where the root would grow interested me. The coins gave me a hint and the water budding a flower felt cheerful! If you have time to continue to develop this, I imagine you have considered other representations of blocks and pickups other than the gray blocks and the gold coins.

lotusgame says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:48am

Nice gameplay ! A very well polished game with cute graphics and several levels ! Bravo :)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:39pm

This is easily one of the most polished games I've seen so far in this LD. The blooming flower, the smooth camera movements, the energy gestion... The level of details is damn high, yet you succeded everywhere, as your game is gorgeous, moody, challenging and downright interesting.

Still, some points could be improved. I'll just quote Julian Ceipek who nailed it :
"1. The root growing graphics should be smoother and make the location of the root more obvious. While playing, the split point becomes ingrained in the player, but I had to look at the root out of the corner of my eye because the twisting was actually uncomfortable to watch. By the time I finished the game, it took me a few seconds before I stopped having the impression that the game player was rippling.
2. The cool-down time for splitting needs to be made more obvious, or removed. Every time I tapped the spacebar and nothing happened, I felt that the game had unpleasantly ripped control away from me.
3. The level layout needs to be apparent at the start. Angry Birds does this very well with a panning animation. I think that would work well here, too. "

Also, I still think the difficulty curve may be a bit high and more variety wouldn't hurt : maybe for a full released version I hope you WILL do someday !! :)

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice mood :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:18am

Great mechanic idea. good job,

JustinMullin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Awesome art and animation. The sound and music is spot on, and the pan up to see the flower bloom totally sells the whole package. Love it!

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:43am

This game is very addictive. The graphics and audio was very good plus the gameplay mechanic was really interesting and the level design was excellent.

KevinLaity says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:42am

Really unique mechanic, and nice relaxing music.

May 15, 2013 @ 11:25am

This game is so polished! Simple & addictive. Did you port it to mobiles yet? :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great idea and design!! It's especially exciting when a few branches are growing successfully

goerp says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Thsi is some original gameplay! It is deceptively simple in its gameplay but has wquite some depth in gameplay. Strategy and planning in an easy package.

I saw thsi game in a video and reminded me of my game because it is about growing plants but I was pleasantly surprised with this game (this game plays very good I mean)

Great!

flap says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Apparently, it can't be played anymore...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]