April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Silly Jumpin' Pixel [Working link]

by Tanius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[CORRECTED LINK]

[last update: 04/30/13]

Just a pixel dude jumping and jumping.
Don't jump when you're in white boxes and avoid red ones.
Don't fall and jump as high as you can.

---

Just html5 canvas and some ugly pattern in photoshop.

I admit i could work on it just for a few hours... But i did enjoy the time i spent on it.
Hope you have fun.

-Tanius

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#714Humor2.00
#979Audio1.88
#1103Innovation2.27
#1147Mood2.17
#1148Fun2.25
#1158Theme2.77
#1170Graphics2.18
#1265Overall2.30

Comments

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

It's not working for me, tried Firefox and Chrome, the playfield is just a white box.

OneMoreGo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Sorry, couldn't run this - I think due to it being on dropbox (it fails to load content from a different url).

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Game working fine here, the javascript alerts were pretty annoying, game was hard to play.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice entry!

Tanius says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Ok, now the corrected link should work. Sorry, i had problems with dropbox...

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

OK, works now, but seems impossible to avoid red things, there's no warning and they come quick. I got a huge score by going all the way to the right and hitting space a lot. :)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice game, even if it's a little bit difficult to avoid the red square :(

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

Very unique, but confusing.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

That _was_ silly! Went pretty fast, don't know if I could have avoided red. Not really any feedback when you get hurt.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

Very challenging, trying to figure out when not to jump, when to move, etc was good fun. Got some laughs out of acellerating rapidly.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Agreed that it's really challenging, mostly because there's no way to know what's coming up ahead of you so you're destined to slam into the danger zones. Perhaps if the objects were farther apart from each other depending on how fast you travel it would be a bit easier? Also if you stayed closer to the bottom of the viewport it could give you some advantage as well?

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Simple and fun!
I found it a bit difficult to get anywhere without hammering like crazy :)

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Fun little game, I got to 18000 by jamming the space bar until I had one life left (:

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

Simple, but effective. Once I realized that "don't jump here" means "you can jump into here, but don't press tap WHEN YOU'RE IN HERE", the game was more fun. I would've liked to see forward a bit more, otherwise going fast was really just a gamble. Still, a really neat entry!

Tanius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:20am

Ok made some fix & update!
Thanks to all of you for your feedback. Hope know it's more playable.

miro662 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45am

nice idea & nice game :)

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Fun game, for quick play!

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01am

I only wish the red blocks wouldn't keep materializing directly above the green blocks. ^_^; Also, the collision detection seems slightly inconsistent - I can jump on the edge of a white block without damage, but I can also get a boost brushing the side of a green block, and touching a red block anywhere is, of course, death.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Decent concept, but I would probably change how the jumping mechanic works. Right now it's usually so safe to hug the right and left sides of the screen while periodically mashing the spacebar that it breaks the game. Maybe you could have it so the player has a variable amount of jumps that increases every few seconds, while the screen gradually rises?

Just a suggestion, good work overall. :)

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I kept dying because the green boxes sent me straight into red boxes. Nice jumping mechanic, on the other hand.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Way tooooo hard :)

spriters2000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

nice game, very funny

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Simple, but effective. A nice idea, well executed. Good stuff.

niun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Liking it.
It's bloody hard to avoid the red boxes but not frustrating or game breaking hard
It'd be cool if the falling speed was slightly slower - or maybe I just don't have the skills! :)

wademcgillis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:45pm

The highest I got was just over 106__.

Firefox kept telling me I needed a plugin though?

Cosmologicon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:45pm

A bit random because it's too fast to know what's coming up, but once I got the hang of it I got to 43,000.

Misael.K says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:21pm

This was fun! The controls are too stiff, though. Moving left and right should be faster, and the speed gained by jumping is too unpredictable.
Nice take on the jumping vertical platforms game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]