April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Get The Potato

by invaderJim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have one job, and that's to get the potato.

And you have 5 seconds to do it.

Can YOU get enough potatoes to reach the secret special ending???

If you get stuck, just beat your keyboard. That will work.

Linux has not been tested.

Flashing can be toggled on/off with 'T' key, but you have to do it every round.


Postato-mortem now up (with spoilers to help if you get stuck) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/08/get-the-postato-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.45
Coolness77%
#5Audio4.23
#23Fun3.93
#70Mood3.77
#95Overall3.79
#311Graphics3.40
#459Innovation3.24
#632Theme3.46

Comments

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

I got the potato!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

THIS. IS. GLORIOUS.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

GET THE POTATO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

love the voices! i can imagine this being made by sega and played at some dirty seaside town arcades when the dancemat games were all the rage.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Ahahaha nice

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

got the potato. I think the air control isnt allways working.

nice game though!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

GET THE POTATO!!
And I cannot reach it in time :(.
Nice idea, well executed.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Really nice job for the fun and the audio part !

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

All potatoes can be reached. Don't give up! ;D

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I hadn't find a way to get to potato behind the glass cube or whatever it is :/

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

It can be done. You just have to forget everything you know about everything then proceed to GET THE POTATOOOO

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

HOW HARD IS IT, IT'S RIGHT THERE.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

haha yes potato!

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Oh my god, this is... incredible!

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Quite funny.

Ivan_ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

First game I rated most of the elements 5 stars yet :)

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I got the potatoes!
But I never saw that ending coming!

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

GLaDoS can get the potato.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Gave me some good laughs. If you want to expand on this you could always.. get the potatoooooo!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Wow. Incredibly fun and really, really nice all around. Hilarious too! Loved it. Great job.

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

GET POTATO +1
well played.

Inf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13am

Curious how you linked the lights up with the audio ?

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

The ending was epic, didn't expect that.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Oh you better believe I got that potato

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

The audio and humour are fantastic. "Get the potato" is going to be in my head all day tomorrow.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

Top of the class video game. Make more!

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:39pm

This was amazing! The potato was just a plus to the humor and gameplay!

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Hilarious! Had a lot of fun playing this.. and lost track of time. That's a good sign for your game, and bad for my lunch break! >.<

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55am

Awesome. Just awesome.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Oh wow! My first thought was Professor Genki with the arena type announcer. I could hear there was alot of effort put into the win audio after each level, but it cut off too quickly. I think the audio is the stand out part, though the puzzles do make you think. Was stuck in my head all day (Right now, what you have to do is ....) . Well Done =]

graytest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Fun game! :) Like the voice over. I didn't figure out how to get past the glass. Some instructions for the controls would have been nice.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:27am

Hilarious. Love the voices. Got stuck on the third level. Great work!

Lafolie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Jokes. The voice overs rock.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:03pm

This game is soooo funny, I love the sounds effects :D

Xgor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Oh god do I love the humor in this, Not that minimalistic but damn gettin' potato's have never been this fun.

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:17am

Hahahah BEAUTIFUL! Highest rated game today?

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:14am

Get the Potato!!!!. Awesome game - very hard though. I'll try to finish it .

galman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:16am

POTATO!!! MY BRAIN IS FULL OF POTATOES!!!
Amazing game :D

ovenchips says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:07am

Funniest entry I have played by a mile. Quite fiendish in places too - very proud to have made it to one of the later levels. Would love it if you wrote some kind of blog entry about audio production in the game (what HW/SW did you use to get such great quality video-gamey sounding voice-overs). LOVE! IT!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Damn Potato!

larb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Hilarious. Like the idea. Got stuck on fifth level though with the glass. I tried beating my keyboard.

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:22am

this proves potato theme the best theme

invaderJim says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:18am

I am truly humbled by all of the kind things being said about this game. Although I don't think you all realize that you're saying these things about a game that involves getting a potato.

A postato-mortem is coming in which I'll go over all the audio goodies as far as recording and syncing with the light, so keep your eyes.. peeled!

As for those that are struggling with the first few levels, I REALLY want to help you out, you have no idea, but if I do I will violate the integrity of the game, as minimal instruction is partly how I interpreted the theme. Maybe I will put spoilers in the postato-mortem, I dunno... Thanks for playing the game, at any rate :D

I love you all! L-D-4-8-4-LYFE

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:09pm

voted 5 stars on the potato scale

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Fun, humorous game. Game play was great, especially having to discover some of the key combinations. And the audio was off the charts! I never could get past the glass box though. Well done.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:35am

Impressive how the lights are sync'ed with the audio. Count me as another who got suck on the purple glass box. I tried pressing keys but no luck. I should have tried smashing the keyboard, but this is my last good one left and it's too late to go out and buy a new one. ;D

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:32pm

AWESOME.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:57am

It took a long time to figure out how to get past the potato behind glass. Then I remembered I had a mouse.

I never did get past the potato behind glass under the two panes of purple glass.

Nice work on the audio and the premise.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Cool game, got stuck after a while though :3

Hayawi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:18pm

At first I thought that the ending was going to be like an ode to portal, where you throw the potato in lava or something. But this ending was so much more awesome! Good Job!!!

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Hilarious, i loved the voice GET THE POTATOOOO!

May 8, 2013 @ 8:48pm

That's cool, but I was quite shocked as your first level looked a lot like my first level... :) So ok, your game is more funky, but mine is darker, and I don't have a potatoe...

CogentInvalid says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:55am

Wow. I was the potato the entire time? That's deep.

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:59am

I laughed a lot on this game. I couldn't beat the level with the wall.

Maple says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Oh man, this is so good. I managed to get through to the end. The hardest level was the 3rd one or something where it was just out of reach and you needed to run to it. I tried everything from running backwards, sideways, and diagonally (Goldeneye/Perfect Dark 64 speedruns anyone?) before realising that I needed to just press shift to run, lol.

It felt like I was on a game show of some sort. The audio and all was handled very nicely, and good job on those vocals!

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:27pm

[SPOILER]
I didn't get it with the purple boxes because I solved the level where you introduce them without the "trick". I then read it in the post mortem. Couldn't see all the levels because on of the later one is too hard for me (you must make a little jump to reach a platform below you, then turn around and pass through a purple wall and a purple floor.

Codexus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great humor!

Threef says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Well... You have great music there, but... you playing it every 5 sec, and it's not good. :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]