April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitas

by Walnoot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Smash your enemies with your magnetic ball while trying not to be smashed yourself in my very first Ludum Dare entry! I am very pleased with how the game turned out, so I hope you'll enjoy it as well. You should be able to run the .JAR by double-clicking if you have Java installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Fun3.52
#170Innovation3.65
#457Overall3.26
#571Theme3.52
#732Mood2.71
#801Audio2.27
#815Graphics2.70
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Took a second to figure out if I was trying to defend myself or the other ball. Beyond that, innovative way to attack, I like it!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Neat, I like the concept, sadly my laptop would cut out keys if I held too many at once. Still managed to nearly finish 3 waves. I can see this getting easier with practice, nice job.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Crazy color pickers!

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

LOL.. I was lost at the beginning. Silly me. Nice game. Nice.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

This is a really cool game. I like the attack concept. My only real criticism is all the ads you have to go through on Mediafire to download your game!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice concept, and great execution! I like how the player is not much tougher than the individual enemies and that it's all about how well the ball is handled. Well done!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Unique idea, simple yet fun.

galman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice concept! More gameplay would be awesome :)

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Cool gameplay mechanics. Took me a while to figure it out, but once I did, I was set.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

I really liked the infinite playfield and the smashing mechanic, however it can get boring quickly at least it doesn't seem to have more than 3 enemy types and once you know how to beat them it's very easy. (I often just let them run into the ball instead of smashing the ball into them)

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19am

I killed 24 of them before being taken down, I enjoyed the concept of indirect attacking the enemies

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Very well done, great game :D

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:25am

Very clever attack scheme. I liked it!

I wish that there was more done with it, though. I know that this is a minimalist challenge, but the minimalism came, I think, from being able to only attack by attracting a ball. It would have been nice to have different kinds of enemies that reacted differently for some varied challenge.

Also, I think that the playfield is too small. In order for you to attack, you need to have the enemies between yourself and the attack ball. The problem is that this is often impossible to do without taking damage because the playfield gets so crowded.

Diamonde says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Very impressed with how solid the gameplay is. It felt very natural to sling that other ball with the use of gravity, and every hit was satisfactory! :D
Really well done.

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:23am

Neat concept, had fun (:

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]