April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Race

by daniel2357 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's the Minimal Race!
You move up and down with the arrows(the up and down) and can boost with Space, that's all!.
Collect fuels to increase your speed , but don't touch the woods!
* Tap space to start.
This game was built using XNA, which may require installing the "XNA redist" http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914 .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#655Humor2.09
#1036Audio1.52
#1152Theme2.79
#1213Mood1.94
#1214Fun2.10
#1260Overall2.32
#1298Graphics1.82
#1301Innovation1.82

Comments

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

The core game play is pretty minimalistic indeed, but in games like this which has as vital as fuel appearing randomly on the map needs regulation. It quickly becomes a game where you fare better if the fuel cans happen to spawn for you, without little input from player skill.
Still it's a nice and simple game without any other problems with it.

eli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Hey cool race! I found it a little picky as to what constitutes a "pickup". Also not sure if you can keep going necessarily, even if you get them all -- are you guaranteed enough fuel? But it was fun. Nice job!

galman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Very nice game for your first time! I really liked it, better graphics and some more polishing would make it even better. Well done :)

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I'm going to agree with Destroyer40k - fuel needs to be a little more guaranteed. In addition, I'm not sure what purpose the 'boost' mechanic serves. All I saw it do was make my fuel go down faster.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice for the 2 days limit - Could use some work on the collision testing, but otherwise good work.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

bowlercaptain- the boost makes you go faster-sorry if it doesn't seems to. Also- I'd made it like so it won't matter if you boost or not(becauese the ratio between the fuel and the speed is quite the same)- and that is my bad. Learning for next time - and thank you for the review.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09pm

The collision detection seems pretty wonky, and I felt like I was losing because gas cans didn't spawn, not because of lack of skill. I couldn't get the boost mechanic to work either.

Really, a game like this depends entirely on the feel of the driving. If you get a chance to play Micro Machines, do it. That has the best driving feel of any top-down racer that I've ever played. It's about not always being in control, but being able to feel when you are going to lose grip and get it back.

I realize that I am maybe putting too much thought into this.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15am

Improve the visual. Make the road generation with perlin noise maybe? This would be really nice to play if polished.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58am

Try to get some art experience, and not make the graphics in MS Paint next go round. Be glad you finished a game, as that's more than can be said for a lot of people.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice effort for your first time :-)

I found it a bit difficult to know exactly where I should put the car to collide with the fuel cans and dodge the logs. It seems that it was the wheels, but it would be better to make the collision boxes more obvious!

Hope to see you next LD :-)

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Thank you .You are correct it is the wheels. I hope to make a better game with better graphics next time :). Also i'll make it clear next time :P.

Patacorow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Cute game!
Also, © Made By Daniel

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Double click on WindowsGame1.exe does not launch it? windows7 64

May 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Good game!

daniel2357 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29pm

whitetigle : i have Win7 64 bit too. Have you extract/decompressed the files?

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Where are the potatoes? xD

daniel2357 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Well: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20903 you want it :P.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:52pm

78.2 :-)

zinfandel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:32am

Hey pretty cool race! I agree that the collision could be better so you'd get boost/fuel whenever you should and perhaps give more racing area than background, to increase the challenge.
Good job for getting a working easy-to-read game in :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Nice game, very minimal well done! :)

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:12pm

This game just has a nice, easy, and happy feel to it which I liked :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:38am

I keep running out of gas

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

very fun!! really nice game dude!

May 5, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Could not rate the game since I don't have Windows.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Please target this to "Reach" XNA profile, not "HiDef", otherwise I (and many others) won't be able to run it.

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:46pm

messiano- I'll try.

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:00am

A good effort that could perhaps be seen as a minimalist deconstruction of endless runners popular on mobile platforms. You can dodge and collect and you always lose! In need of a bit more player influence in the game to make it more involved though. I liked the little guy in the car!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:57am

agree on need for more fuel -- nice job

CNIAngel says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Interesting minimal game. It'd be cool if the copyright part wasn't on the background image. It's constant scrolling kinda hurt my eyes.

daniel2357 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Noticed for the next time. Thank you :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]