April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Self

by sittaman - Jam Entry

==[THE GAME]==
Preserve your personality by keeping yourself away from the crowd.

Controls: W or Up arrow and S or Down arrow.

Developed by:
Charles "macintoxic" Alves
Felipe "sittaman" Sitta
Raui "raoin" Fernando

NOTE: The game take a while to load as its ~6MB large. (Yep, we forgot a loading screen, lol)

==[TOOLS]==
Code: FlashPunk with FlashDevelop IDE
Graphics: Paint.NET
Revision control: Dropbox (don't try this at home!)
Sound: Freesound.org and Nosoapradio.us

==[OURSELVES]==
We are 3 gamedev students and this is our first game jam ever and for that we choose the Jam division. Also is the first time we work on something serious. Lots of learning and fun on this weekend, definitely a great time developing our game. We are very happy to have joined Ludum Dare, and we are already looking forward for the next editions as well as MiniLDs. Thanks a lot to all the LD staff and community!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#210Audio(Jam)3.09
#226Mood(Jam)3.10
#332Humor(Jam)1.93
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#345Theme(Jam)3.09
#401Graphics(Jam)2.74
#442Innovation(Jam)2.37
#453Fun(Jam)2.34

Comments

cableplays says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

Very Interesting/cool concept!!

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24am

neat idea (though the symbolism was maybe a bit too heavy-handed for me), but i found it too easy - and consequently kind of boring. i think it's ok to instadeath the first time your character gets hit for this kind of game. it's also probably ok to speed up the red guys a little bit. i did like how the sprites looked a lot.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Simple but really strong depiction of philosophical themes!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

Narrative and sound were great! Bit slow though.

aare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

This game really miss some sort of comunist hymn in the background :P

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

I kept hoping the speed of the game would pick up shortly after the music started to. Unfortunately, it got kinda tedious after awhile. Good music, and the marching sound and imagery was pretty cool.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

pretty massive tune! it was a bit too easy I think and a bit sad when I lost but great to see a game about going against hte tides of conformity.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

I really like the concept/background of the game! You kept it simple, but that doesn't make it bad.

Great work guys.

Pd: Did you do the music as well?

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

It was a little on the slow/easy side. I loved the sound though.

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

need to add more things to the game

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

@Jan Marcano: unfortunately we didn't had enough time to came up with the music / sounds so we used public domain songs / fx. Sources listed in game and in description.

Thanks for all the comments. Is really great to receive this feedback. If we decide to finish the game someday we'll take all that in account.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Cool concept but would have loved to see some more things come at you...I guess that would go against the "everyone's the same" theme though. Liked the "death" at the end when you turn into one of the pack.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting concept and well implemented; I got the idea right off the bat. I like how you gradually change in color the more you collide with "the crowd." The theme was prevalent but could have been pushed to a greater extent. Good job.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

8639px! I wasn't too sold on it at first - very easy for too long, nothing really new, except I loved the music so I kept playing. Once I started failing, though, I really like what you did with it.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:17am

Cool! I hoped for more, some kind of interesting twist after I turned completely red, but still it's a cool concept and very well executed. Sound and music are exceptional and the visuals are pretty nice.

brxtr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:08am

Because there's nothing much to do, the game quickly becomes boring, especially with its slow pace, but for a first jam game it's not bad.

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:18am

Hey sittaman you commented on my game! :D

Yours is awesome! My best distance was 7961px!! lol really good idea on how to incorporate a story into a gameplay concept like this, made it more motivating I think... I really like the changing of your characters color every time you bump into a red guy too, really well done! Add in some power-ups here and there and you have yourself something legit!

Was this done in flash?

fishbrain says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Good stuff! - just needs the difficulty ramped up.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Fair enough for what it is, but not interesting enough to play for long.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Interesting concept! The game is a bit too simple, it would be great if you increase a bit the difficulty and add some others features.

miotatsu says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:52pm

nice, but doesn't have anything to really draw the player in

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]