April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube_Story

by Szedouu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi! It is my first LD... and I completely didnt have idea for my game , and I had big technical problems. It is also my first game and made with flixel framework... I learn it everyday.

Very very very minimalistic game , about lost square.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#230Humor2.81
#400Audio2.97
#668Mood2.76
#827Theme3.26
#1217Graphics2.10
#1271Innovation1.95
#1277Fun1.92
#1299Overall2.18

Comments

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

I'm not sure if that was supposed to be incredibly deep or absolutely hilarious. Either way, I laughed a lot at the dialogue haha. One thing, I would try to host it on the net somewhere. To play the SWF I had to download it then drag it into my browser for it to work.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Right in the feels! Seriously though, such simple graphics and gameplay combined with the mood you set there... Really makes you thoughts wander. :)

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Congratulations on your first LD entry :) Sounds like you learned a lot. I look forward to seeing you at the next one too!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

I like the aesthetics of the game, next time do it longer, and with some challenges too, music is fine, and the idea is good, surrond the environment a little more and add some actions too, like jump, those with different gravities as you have and you have a great product :)

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Nice first entry! And it would also have been a great 10th entry! I like the atmosphere in the game.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Cool game. It expressed a lot with very little.

foul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Why not potatoe..? ..anyway cube works too (stars:)
Nice first entry.

Yakka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Very strange experience. I liked it :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice game, well done!

May 4, 2013 @ 10:04am

That's what I imagine Jesus must have felt like. If he were a square, that is :)

There is not much gameplay here yet, but the music is lovely!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:05am

not bad for your first LD. I liked the music. However the game is a bit short. I guess you could call that minimalism as well ;)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:12am

Might lack some "game" part, but interesting experience and good job for your first entry :)

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Lol, what? Am I supposed to find this saddening? I thought it was pretty funny.

Also, I don't know why the screen scrolls sideways when you move horizontally, because the width of the screen is the same as the width of the game -- it would have been better not to scroll horizontally. Otherwise I don't know what to complain about. If you were going for moody, well, I thought the text was a bit too in-your-face for that, but it made it funny.

Good job nonetheless. =p

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:15pm

What a strange thing :) Just keep working on it and release a post-compo version here!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]