April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Equilibria

by Khaldrin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare for me - great experience! So here's my game:

Equilibria:

You have to defeat all enemies by either overcharging them or completely absorbing their energy. The difficulty is, that you can die as well from these causes. So you have to maintain a balance between overcharging and absorbing, while trying not to let the enemies come to close.

Tips: Overcharged enemies sometimes multiply, better kill them quickly. But they also explode upon death and deal damage to all enemies in their surroundings. Absorbed enemies simply desintegrate... no danger here.

Controls: WASD for movememt, Left and right mouse buttons for shooting. LMB: red laser, transfers energy from yourself to the enemy. RMB: blue laser transfers energy from the enemy to yourself.

Have fun and don't explode :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#125Audio3.50
#237Innovation3.55
#427Overall3.29
#490Mood2.97
#529Humor2.25
#545Theme3.55
#565Fun2.98
#683Graphics2.88

Comments

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice idea ! Very tricky to handle all the ennemies and don't explode, but when you succeed to explose one, the next shot explode them all ! Maybe the explosion deal too much damages.

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Excellent game! I really like the idea and the audio is fantastic. The particle effects are also nice.

A little tricky to figure out what to do at first though.

Jalict says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The audio and overall feeling of the game is good! But I had a bit though time to figure out how it worked. And how I could survive.

jhonpi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Cool idea! It's hard to maintain the balance with all those enemies. I like the music and the explosions! :)

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Really enjoyed it. Absolutely loved the music.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

Very nice effects i love it, and great music :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Congrats on your first LD.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Neat idea. After a few minutes I thought the enemies had stopped spawning, but it turned out I just had to hunt down the last one in a corner somewhere.

I like the music!

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

interesting concept. i felt it was too easy though !

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

soo hard but yet so addictive :) lov it!

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Like the concept. Also music.

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Quite enjoyable, though the menu screens are a little unresponsive (unless that's just my system).

glisk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

One of the best concepts I've seen this time. Well "balanced" (sorry for the pun :P) difficult and fun. GJ

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Really fun to play! Congratulation on your first LD!

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Fun, addictive and minimal! Great job!

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:57am

i looked and felt good! ) good job

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

Not bad, kinda hard at first but a bit repetitive after a while.

Jyrkface says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:05am

Clever game concept! Could see a lot of possibilities for this!

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Interesting novel concept ! Perhaps to hard to master. Well polished game. Congrats :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very nice idea!

Although i think you could enhance the way you teach the player how to play.

Give them one or two tutorial levels, and this will be one of my favorite entries :D

May 4, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice idea!

Broxxar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Cool idea with a decent execution. A little bit of polish and some more levels/varying types of enemies would take this a lot further.

Great work.

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare entry. I really enjoyed the premise, and the symmetry present, particularly making your enemies' weaknesses your own. I played for a while before destroying every enemy (close quarters explosion) except for one. I actually found that a rather poignant ending, given that I couldn't overload or absorb the enemy without succumbing to the opposite fate.

The instructions screen passed by very quickly, so my first few sessions were failures. I had to read the instructions here to figure out how to play.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I loved the absorbing/overcharging mechanic. It made the game very addictive and fun. Wish there was some sort of scoring system though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]