April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Catcher

by zinfandel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my minimalism version to a catch & train game. It's my first Ludum Dare and first time that I do more code than art in a game.
I had a lot of fun working on it anyway.
What to do?
Notice the bar above. You start with one creature-shape and can find more in the grass. You can level them up and gain more power in the grass. Heal at the healer (blue building).
Try to find the most powerful shapes,and when you think you've got enough power, challenge the league at the top left!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#94Graphics3.94
#481Humor2.33
#767Mood2.67
#773Innovation2.85
#1118Fun2.29
#1219Overall2.41
#1305Theme2.35

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53am

Very clever art, and amusing pokemon-style approach. I assume the store and breeding center do not do anything right now, and there is nothing to do after defeating a champion in the fence, but it's neat. If you have the time and interest, you could make a very impressive game with this art style and perhaps a different theme.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Hehe cool claymation, but the gameplay is hard to understand

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Thank you so much! I glad you like it. Yes it's missing feedback and sound to make much sense. And a lot of features. I've still got a lot of passion to complete it though.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

The graphics are lovely but the rest doesn't make that much sense... I like how it's inspired by Pokemon. :D

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I really like the graphics. I wish there was some more game to play here :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

It was a bit hard to understand but the concept is very cool i'd like to see more of this !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

love the gfx ..i didnt really understand what i was supposed to do tho ;p

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

As others have mentioned, awesome graphics but didn't have a clue what was going on :P

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Claymation is always a cool style to use for a game, but I agree the story left me confused, sorry.

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Hi, here is some feedback about your game.
What I loved :
- art style
- pokemon spirit
What imo could be improved :
- remove unfinished features (it makes the game messy)
- title, author, instructions on a splash screen or on webpage
- ending
- juicy feedbacks when shapes level up <3

Pretty neat overall, thanks for the game !

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Great idea for the graphics, but the gameplay is a little confusing.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

Lythom - thank you for those suggestions, they are excellent!
I've learned so much from this event. It rawks.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

OSX version doesn't wrok :/
Graphics looks amazing though.. I'll have to play it on my windows computer later!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nice graphics, but hard gameplay

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice graphics, but I had no idea what I was supposed to do and I kept dying for no discernible reason :(

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

It looks really nice, but I had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. At one point, I kept getting a "you were killed" message for moving into the grass.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Pokemon with auto-fighting could actually work. Nice graphics, but you would have to improve the the way you interact with them.

daniel2357 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Very nice concept. Looks Awesome. Its pretty hard though.
Very good game overall.

galman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Nice game! Really like the interesting graphics and the "Pokemon" theme, I'll be happy to play a sequel :D

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I like the look! The screenshot is nice, and grabbed my attention. But I was rather let down by the 'game', which isn't really there. I walked in the grass until stuff levelled up, increased attack, and got more "shapes" -- was it shapes because I was an egg? Why was I an egg?!
I went to the hospital every 20 seconds to refill health, then after a few minutes went to the league over and over and total health and cash went into the thousands... and then it seemed like there was no more... Visiting the hospital after getting 20 league wins put 'total health' back down from 250,000 to 146 or whatever it was meant to be. So I didn't do that the next time. Total power seemed to stop increasing, too.
But having said all that, my RPG-brain compelled me to max those numbers, and the graphics made me expect a lot because they're really interesting.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Very cool idea. I do agree it was a little confusing in the beginning though. Definitely do a post compo version and add the missing features. Good use of theme. Good Job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Great graphics! I only sort of understood what was going on -- needs more feedback in the game! :)

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Terribly unpolished. Art was nice.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Cute, but I didn't really understand what was going on.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:55am

The graphics are great. And I like the game idea. But I don't understand why the hp is increased after defeating one of the champions and gets decreased again by visiting the hospital.

eli says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Your signature look is wonderful.

I didn't have much trouble figuring out what to do. Player actions are limited, though, and the game felt grindy and "make numbers go up". It's clear there is more that you didn't have time for. Good work!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]