April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Piano Stairs

by robmozart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Notes are blasted out of a trumpet onto a stair of piano tangents. Ehm, at the end of the stairs there's a little pond thingy. The only thing a player controls is the speed of the notes blasted out of the trumpet.
I tried to keep the ambitions low but I still ran out of time. The gameplay is not finished at all but I'm happy about the layout and visual stuff regarding the theme.

This is my first time doing Ludum Dare. It's actually my first game ever.

The OS X executable should work on 10.7 and 10.8. I'm not sure about 10.6, let me know if you try it.

I'll try to make a Windows port.


Library, tools:

Pyglet
Sublime Text 2
Photoshop
Ableton Live


Timelapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vq6qpnMj-xQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Audio2.76
#699Innovation2.95
#890Graphics2.61
#997Mood2.41
#1022Theme3.00
#1238Fun2.00
#1307Overall2.14
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Interesting concept. Kind of hard to switch between notes.

Worked good on 10.8.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Hmmmm.... Well I do love the out of the box thinking and creativity, square peg in a round hole and all that but I find this a bit too outlandish?

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Feels a little buggy right now, but it's a nice idea. You should provide Windows binaries too, though.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Pretty and soundy enough but I didn't understand what I was supposed to be doing :-(

robmozart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Thanks for the feedback everybody!

Yes, objective of the game is not well defined, and the collision detection and movement programming is pretty clumsy. I tried to keep the idea and execution simple but I ran out of time before I could make something coherent.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

Pros: Liked the graphics! (beeing old helps) =)
Cons: What was the point of the game? A bit unfinished?

robmozart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

nilstastic: A bit unfinished, yes. I ran out of time and was not able to make the gameplay interesting.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Looks cool but I'm not up to the Mac install. Perhaps add a gameplay video?

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I like the concept, but I kind of wish the notes didn't fire when switching velocity, so that I could play actual tunes. Also it seems like adding some gravity (so the notes curve downward) and/or reversing the incline of the stairs would help make it easier to target individual stairs. Hope you keep developing this idea!

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice kind of interaction. The only thing i don't get is how you compute the score, or what is the target, but i thing is because is unfinished. It's a nice start, spend more time on it!

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:20am

This is actually quite enjoyable. I really like the graphics, and I feel like this could be pretty unique and cool if you finish it up.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

A game play video would be nice if you can't get a port working. The graphics look nice!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I love the graphics, good concept i think this game can be more amazing. Good Job!

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Clean simple graphics. I would try it if it were for windows as well.

May 4, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Ahh, the rare Mac-only-game. It's sad not many people will be able to play it :(

tony.pe says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Looks neat, don't have a Mac. Wish I could play it. :(

DBRalir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Seems to work fine on Linux when run from source.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Cool idea. Seems like we should have one more button!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:21am

Looks neat! Wish I could play it.

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:47am

Don't have OS X.

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Got this to run in Linux without any big problems - just had to install the missing packages. For me, in Ubuntu 13.04 that was python-pyglet and libavbin0 ...

As you say, it's unfinished - but you've got something going on, I like that.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Don't have a mac :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]