April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Shades of Grey

by Nancybeast - Jam Entry

Our first game made in Unity. We had a good go and included a number of features of which most of them work flawlessly. More of a practice run for us than a serious attempt but nevertheless, an entry.

LD27 here we come!

Please comment if any of the games ports do not work correctly. We are new to building and exporting projects using Unity.



Credits

Claire Carroll - Music
Will Davies
Louise Dixon - Art
Lewis Hamilton - Coding
Jake Martin - Art/Coding/Beat-boxing
McDonalds - Food
JustEat - Food
Scottish Power - Electricity
Katie Price - Entertainer
Callum Humpage - Story/Idea/Game Direction



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Theme(Jam)2.83
#446Innovation(Jam)2.35
#497Graphics(Jam)2.30
#499Mood(Jam)2.00
#505Fun(Jam)2.13
#534Overall(Jam)2.22
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

SpitefulFox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23am

not bad, the jumping is a bit wonky at times, but it seems fairly well executed.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

The web entry doesn't work. It keeps asking me to login to dropbox, then says the folder doesn't exist when I do login.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Web link not working.

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

none of the links seem to be working, unfortunately.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Windows link isn't working, either.

Nancybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The links should be fixed now. Thanks for being patient. Dropbox is not my speciality.

Nancybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The links should be fixed now. Thanks for being patient. Dropbox is not my specialty.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I managed to fall through the world...

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

neat idea (love the rotation effect), but it doesn't seem like you explored the concept as much as you could/should have. also the collisions are pretty finicky. so good effort, but I'm sure you can do better !

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I liked the rotation mechanic, was an interesting play on the levels. That being said, I consistently fell out of the world after the second level. Also, spamming left shift on the stairs makes the stupid windows sticky keys thing come up, good times.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Interesting idea, but the overall feel/control was a little off/felt buggy at times. Nice work, regardless. :)

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Got stuck in the floor and didn't hear any music. Liked the rotation effect though.

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Well done folks :D

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32am

Very fun platform game

May 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I must say i find your game very sexually stimulating...

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Linux links only include the binaries. Need full build to actually run it. I managed to get it starting by nicking the Mono runtime from another game and by using the data from the Windows archive.

Unfortunately, I just fall through the floor. There is a large black rectangle on the left side of the screen.

Sorry for taking so long to get to your entry! Thanks for playing Prisma.

ZYXer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nicely game with some potential.

The physics are a bit glitchy, so I wasn't able to get over level 5.

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:51pm

The game is kind of glitchy, but it's playable. I giggled at the pun title, and I really liked the rotating effect. However the first time I played I fell in the first pit and there was no way to restart the level which was kind of odd, so I just restarted the whole game.

Nancybeast says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Sorry about the game being super glitchy. This was our first game with Unity and we got so obsessed about the rotation idea that it took up most of our time. Thank you for being nice in the comments though, the LD community seems really friendly :)

May 3, 2013 @ 11:35pm

The game is some glitchy, but i like it, i had the same my problem, we enter a game with a lot of fails hahaha. Anyway i like the idea i waiting for a fixed version :D

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:02am

Sorry, but I didn't care for it.

The most interesting thing is the 90-degree rotation bit, but it's not in any way gameplay-related and it's really just a gimmick.

I thought it was cool that you could knock around blocks to form platforms, but the glitchy physics made it frustrating instead of fun.

I couldn't get past the point where there are two squares bouncing around and I need to use one to double-jump over a high wall. I can't get enough height/forward momentum to get over the jump, even though I appear to jump high enough. I don't know if I'm doing it wrong (I didn't hear anything about a way to stack those blocks), if the controls are poor (sometimes it seems like I don't move the direction I want to go at the proper, normal speed), or if the hitbox is just too big.

In any case, there's really not much game here from what I could play, anyway. Sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]