April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Quest for Philip's Glass

by porglezomp - Jam Entry

NOTE: The non-compo version has been modified since the end of the LD, so votes shouldn't be based on it. That being said, if you just want to play it, it's your best bet since it fixes some annoying bugs.

Controls: WASD, E to use

This game was made by Caleb Jones (me) and Owen Hughes, music by Kai McKenney.
Our tools:
Unity3d - Game engine
(Unity Pro trial graciously supplied by the LD)
blender - Level meshes and objects
Photoshop - End screen, glass textures

Here's the description by my partner.

The Quest for Phillip's Glass is a puzzle oriented game. It features very physical puzzles that involve activating buttons with cubes. Doors are useful, as are platforms, though platforms are not always immediately obviously present in a room. It draws from the most basic elements of physical puzzle games to create a simple, but not necessarily easy game. The Legend of Zelda, Portal, and Mirror's Edge were the largest inspirations for the game. We did not have time to put it in a proper 3rd person perspective.

Look! A friend made a playthrough of it!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRGqN8uojzE (SPOILERS)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#56Graphics(Jam)4.14
#68Overall(Jam)3.70
#106Theme(Jam)3.74
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#133Audio(Jam)3.40
#142Fun(Jam)3.26
#291Humor(Jam)2.05
#328Innovation(Jam)2.79

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

Wonderful entry! I love the game on all levels! A few very small things could use a little bit of polishing, but other then that, amazing!

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Reuploaded, since the spawn point was accidentally placed in the last room.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11am

Very good! Good puzzling. Sometimes the boxes spawning from the roof would get stuck. Otherwise a very smooth experience :)

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12am

Absurdly beautiful The music, the colours and the puzzles. Very intrigued, this deserves a lot more votes! 5/5 across the board.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

Quite fun !

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Wow amazing game! one of the best I've seen for the moment! I really enjoyed the puzzle, it kind of reminds me to Portal and the boxes

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18am

Got stuck down a hole... after the door requiring two crates.

But other than that, really enjoyed the feel of this entry. Very nice!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

Beautiful. I wish it had some more variations in its mechanics though :) Well done.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:29am

Beautiful game and fun!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Ran into a bug: You can drop a cube while it's halfway through a wall and break a puzzle. Other than that minor thing this is really cool, has a great cheery colorful vibe.

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I love puzzle games. Some problems, though. The boxes seemed to get moved back to their start position under seemingly random circumstances, and when jumping to the bottom floor of one the levels I could neither find a way up nor a button to restart the level. Otherwise, great!

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Very soothing music- the puzzles, while very Portal-like, were well put together. Very enjoyable entry - nice job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

this is a very fun game. I liked how the puzzle was designed and the music. there were a few small things that could use fixing but other then that it was great!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Excellent game. The visual style is very satisfying and matches well with the theme. The gameplay is nothing new, but it's fun and well designed. The music is a nice choice. A mouse lock and cursor would have been nice, especially since this is based on looking and placing blocks.

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

If you like this, you might like this guy's game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22124

It's pretty similar, one of my favorite games so far.

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

nice style and some nice puzzles too. Good work!

RARoadkill says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

Awesome game. One of my favorites so far

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

Neat entry, though I felt the look sensitivity was too high.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:34am

I liked the simple graphical style a lot. It was very annoying how there was no way to get out of pits apart from restarting the game from the beginning. This stopped me from continuing the game to the end.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37am

The levels are very well designed for 72 hours. Some pieces somehow reminds me a hospital =D Nice job, congratuilations

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37am

Arrgh I dropped a box in a wall! So sad.

Nice coherent level design though.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47am

This was great! A few slightly game-breaking bugs, like the blocks getting stuck in the walls and weird clipping errors, but that's more than made up for by the rest. Great graphics, easy install. I really liked that you could see the character's shadow.

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

Thanks guys, your comments mean a lot to me. I plan to continue working on the game for a few more days and posting a non-compo version. I really would like to fix all the game breaking bugs at least, and make a few puzzles a little bit less confusing.

@Phase I was originally trying to make it a 3rd person game, but since I ran into issues with mecanim, I finally gave up. I left the walking animations in place though, since I wanted to use the character for something.

KaiMcKenney42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice job guys! Though the sensitivity was a little high and the blocks glitching through the walls was a little annoying, the puzzles were well made and the game was a nice, fun, quick play. Did the puzzle with ordering the blocks with the notes not work out? I was looking forward to that.
Anyways, nice game! Good job.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I thought this game was brilliant. It reminded me somewhat of Tapirs.

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:01pm

@KaiMcKenny42 we didn't have time to complete that last puzzle. That will be one of the things we include in the non-compo version.

Aevek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:20am

Liked the style of your game a lot, I see what you mean about the similarity between our games. My only problem is I fell on one of the early puzzles (embarrasing) and couldn't get out of the hole, so had to reload and start over.

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very clean look to it, very nice. The puzzles however not that innovative, are cleverly done. The way the color separate them is subtle and nicely found. Great work guys!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:49pm

This is lovely... Nice music, nice atmosphere. Gentle increase in puzzle complexity, which fits my limited brainpower very well...

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Great game! I played the postcompo because the controls were too sensitive for me. Good to have the walkthrough, at one point I thought I got stuck because of a glitch.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:35am

Wow! Great game! It looks amazing and has that Portal-esque feel to it with the puzzles, great job!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:21am

And now you're thinking with porta-I mean, cubes.

jimlefevre says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very nice, very pleasing (got stuck on bugs but perseveered!)

Is that Philip Glass? It's beautiful music.

Well done~!~!~

May 10, 2013 @ 11:26am

Sadly I can't play the Windows version (Win XP, 32bit). When I try to, I get following message: "Unable to load mono library from "C:/[...]/Downloads/LD26/QuestForPhilipsGlassWin/QuestForPhilipsGlass_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126)."

But web version worked.

May 12, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I can definitely see the Portal and Mirror's Edge influence. The puzzles had a nice difficulty curve, and I didn't feel like they were ever too easy or difficult. Great job!

zkenshin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Really well done graphics/entry as a whole. :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:52am

Pretty cool, Very annoying music tho.
Mouse moves a bit fast too.
Very clean look.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]