April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Random Legend Adventure

by Captain_Genial - Jam Entry

EDIT : New versions with fixes and available on two more platforms.

Did you ever asked yourself why so many RPGs look the same ? In fact every stories are build on the same axes, this is called the monomyth.

In order to explore the hidden minimalism of RPG's gender, let's play a random hero with a random weapon against random enemies for a random quest !



KEYS : arrows, shift, enter, space, esc.


Score continue to increase after each quest, so share your own and try to beat others !

- - - Disclaimer - - -

Music from newsground :
Dreams Of Slendor_Bosa
Drunken Sailors dance mix Stalagmite
Hawaiian Tune- Crazymonkey03
Ignition_OcularNebula
RoboticToothpaste - wandschrank
Simply Walk Into Epicness_HalcyonicFalconX

- - - Notes - - -
This is our very first concrete game, we hope you'd like it as much as we took pleasure to create it. If it reveals to be pretty much liked, we will push further the project and include many new features and contents. Please share your ideas and feelings,
thank you for playing.

- - - Credits - - -
Wilgenbus Thomas - dev - 20years
Bouly Clement - dev - 22years
Teixeira Anthony - graph/level designer - 22years

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#52Humor(Jam)3.39
#149Fun(Jam)3.24
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#179Overall(Jam)3.36
#180Innovation(Jam)3.26
#233Audio(Jam)3.03
#273Mood(Jam)2.94
#536Theme(Jam)2.23

Comments

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

Aww man I really wanted to try this, but its a jar file.
How am I supposed to run it?

millou393 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

You just click on it, if you have JAVA installed :) Be carefull to have the last update otherwise it will not work!

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18am

I do have it installed. Nothing happens :(

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Navigate it to it using your command prompt and then type java -jar JarName.jar

Also, why is the download 100MB+?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

It works for me, and it's hilarious, good job, these random stuff are really good :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58am

Actually, the game is only 20MB. But we had some troubles with the music/sound format. We had to use .wav format because of our library (Slick2D) and our converter was really bad.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Download link keeps breaking...

Kvisle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Since it's a java-game, it's probably not too hard to make this work in Linux/Mac OS X as well. I'm in Linux currently, so unable to review it.

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Fun idea, generating RPG backstories. Some walls in the grassy world weren´t visible really well and I kept walking into them. Also, sometimes after generating a hero, the intro story doesn´t show up. I do believe that for your next Ludum Dare entry, you should try to save the music files in another format than wav (ogg perhaps) to reduce the download size.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Kvisle, as said previously the game is really heavy because of the music. We are currently working on reducing them. As soon as it's done, we'll release it for Linux/Mac OS X ! Please come back latter and give it a try ;).

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Neat idea, but the presentation is so-so (not very minimal) and none of the Shift weapons work.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

The idea is good, graphics are great, but implementation is messy. Collision boxes (especially for weapons) aren't intuitive, sometimes it's hard to tell if I can walk on a tile or not. The game is unbalanced, some weapons (trident and firesword?) seem to deal less damage, some enemies (zombies?) seem to have more hp. Special reloading attacks never hurt anyone, excepting the potato, which is overpowered. It took me several games to realize there are bossed. And I couldn't see the potato explosion, it just showed a white sprite, covering the bottom-left part of the screen.
And why do you call enter "click"?

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Sweet thing! Thou the dl is a bit large

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

link from mediafire down

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Download link is down man :C I'm gonna give you 5 stars for visuals for now, the screenshots look great :D please hurry and fix this download so I can play what looks like an awesome game :)

Remember DROPBOX is a very secure way of managing downloads, a lot of LD participants seem to be using it :D

I'll be checking back a bit later to see if this is up!!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

We are aware of all these bugs and they'll be fixed in a couple of hours. The link is up again !
We are definitely unlucky, but please come latter and try again.
Thx for your returns !

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

It's says CLICK TO START, but for me it was PRESS ENTER TO START! so at first I thought the game didn't work.

Other than that it looked and played good.
Very polished looking graphics. Looks professional (which you probably are).

Are all those melodies free? (meaning: I could have had better music for my game but with less fuss ;-))

There was a bug with the sound, where I presume several sounds were repeating again and again after winning (it got VERY loud).
And I think that if you want to push this further you should do some syntax and grammar checking :)

PS: I think you had the idea of the game first and then tried to fit it into the theme. But maybe I think that because that's what I did ;-)

mostley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

awesome. Genious Idea, hilarious implementation. A little bit of polishing and then -> pure gold.

Misfit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Yeah! Music and graphics are great. Few problems with collision detection.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Beautiful game. The graphics are amazing. Love the sound and music. Good job.

jwolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

It's a bit buggy and I'm running into some performance issues on my end, but it's a really neat concept and pretty fun, too. Definitely needs polish, but I think you could make something out of this one if you continue to develop it.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:06am

I don't really understand how does the game support the theme. The randomization is fun, but the implementation a bit messy.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:32am

woot. Great random game. I liked a lot the spells =)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45am

Not bad at all ! It's quite beautiful and though the "generic RPG simulator" idea have been worked on quite a bit those last years, I found it quite funny.

It sometimes feels a bit glitchy (collisions mostly, and some strangs things happening, random deaths or stuff) and the forest level is a mess, I couldn't figure out smoothly where to go. With extra polish, you could do wonders. :)

Ernyz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

Liked your idea, its great :) although the game needs some polishing, once i got stuck in a wall (if im not mistaken) and then robots killed me instantly :|

reheated says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

This game is inspired. Fun, funny, with really nice art. (But not very minimalist.)

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Man, this game is addictive. I just keep playing scenarios. It's really well made. The only weapon I didn't really like was the.. sweeping ones like the wooden plank. I couldn't figure out if it was the weapon that was weak or the enemies that were strong. The music choice was really cool too. One of the songs reminded me of Super Meat Boy and the 8 bit brostep was funny.

I lol'd at the potato's effect too.

Awesome entry guys.

cowieaaron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Haha awesome idea. Well executed too

May 1, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Can't play :(

TinyGolem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Quality random entertainment :)

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Cool idea, i like the random generation stuff and all this content is impressive. Of course, its hard to teak all this weapons ... Maybe you should change your random to ensure it choose another location/guy/weapon each time, because my first 4 try was on the same map, the market, and it's a bit repetitive. Keep doing a great job like that !

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Brilliant game. I love all the different weapons you can have and the music is just awesome.
One gripe I have is the collision detection. It's hard to tell where you can go through and where you can't

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

a spaceship with a fork in the forrest???? you got me. love it!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

WUBwubwub.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08pm

A bit of a way to go but still nice! Keep up the good work.

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Fun fun fun! Abilities are hilariously unbalanced (template guy is OP as frak), only complaint I have is that collision detection is pretty wonky. Please make an extended version with even more variables!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:22am

I tried to download it five times now (Windows version, MEGA). But every single times the download breaks up at 60-70 %. :( Meh.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Kid Chamaleon feelings!!! Great game :D

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Really cool game! Liked the idea of randomly chosen themes, mixed things up pretty nicely. Well done! PS: Nuclear Potato is OP

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very awesome :) - I like everything about this game except that I'm bad at it!

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:44am

Some of the explanation screens skipped automatically, so I wasn't quite sure who I was or what my setting was. The secondary power didn't seem to ever do anything, except when it was the potato (or whatever that potato-shaped thing was supposed to be). And most primary weapons sucked in comparison to the mighty fishbowl, which isn't a bad thing, it's just fun to say. I played through several different rolls and enjoyed it.

Keevor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:56am

There are some pretty entertaining combinations you can get. the music is a nice touch, albeit big.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:17am

wow, what a great game - one of my favourites !

very well done and nicely polished :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Hilarious and fun. Love the randomness. I got scuba diver ten times

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31am

I like the idea of randomly picking elements for a game. It's fun to try all the different combinations.

Lyndra says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Yeah nice game to try, this is fuck'in awesome! But who did the music? "Arena" seems to be inspired by dubstep.. Very smart.

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Good job for being your first game.

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:12pm

The game has some great ideals but the implementation is a bit flunky. Good job for making the randomness important.

May 9, 2013 @ 3:41am

Innovative idea and I think you executed it pretty well. Definitely scoring high on innovation purely because of its concept.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:41am

What a pity, I can't play. The game is lagging when I start playing. And finally it crashed. :(

May 11, 2013 @ 11:50am

that's strange. have you the latest version of Java installed on your computer ?

zkenshin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:01am

Really neat concept. Bit of polish and additions and would be a really fun game to play. :)

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:15am

Enjoyed the randomness and the short gameplay. Enemy behavior (walking through walls, chasing you at great numbers) could use a little work.

farmergnome says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:21am

This one turned out fantastic, love the random nature of it, took awhile for me to get working but finally, was worth the effort. Good job guys and grats on your first game.

May 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

It doesn't fit the theme and 100mb is way to much. As mentioned the shift-weapons don't work. But the graphics are really nice and I like the idea.

Personally I think it is not clever to use music from other people (I'm not even sure if the rules allow this) for a game jam, it would be cooler if you made the music on your own.

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:01pm

It's hard to stop playing this game - because you never know what sort of wacky adventure you'll end up in every time XD. Really nice graphics and audio and tons of replayability.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Awesome idea, and pretty amazing implementation too - would love to see this with a coat of polish :) Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]