April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ville

by simvig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Ville, the bustling village simulator! Direct your people in their expansion and discover the secret of the island.

Check the readme file for instructions and tips. See if you can find the secret ending!

Edit: the game now starts windowed. Press F to toggle fullscreen mode. The Windows version requires Java version 1.7. Download Windows + JRE version if you don't have it. The JAR version should be runnable on Mac and Linux, as long as you have Java 1.7 installed, but this is UNTESTED.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#187Humor2.96
#352Graphics3.33
#455Mood3.00
#634Overall3.10
#662Audio2.52
#688Fun2.83
#863Theme3.21
#881Innovation2.69

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Unfortunately, the game crashes when I try to load it =[

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

This is pretty neat, though the game crashed on me after I started building in the western part.
I love how the map looks.

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I found an ending, not sure it was the good one :)
The game had some horrible slowdowns after a while and made my CPU fan sound like a vacuum cleaner.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Not sure if I found prosperity or not. I found the bitter plant, that was the last message I got before reaching thousands of people/resources with all the buildings placed I could. Nothing happened in the last 10 minutes so either I missed the objective or the objective is just to continue on.

Please don't force fullscreen if you don't know my resolution, it messes everything up with multiple monitors! :(

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01am

Nice idea, but I really think it suffers from the minimalistic graphics and sound. I'd even consider the sound to be annoying, but I like the general idea. You should try expanding on that, although making it a bit more complex (like a mix between The Settlers and Dwarven Fortress).

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

nice graphics! -)

ps.
Village.getInstance().init(); contradicts to the pattern Singelton

Kix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

Under the influence of wine your villagers perfect the art of bridge building(hopefully). Classic

egos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

i dont have any more ressource for building

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42am

Nice job. I really liked the look of the water.

Mousseto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Unfortunatly the game crashed after a while.I did not understand the objectives, i just found out about the bridge.
I like the graphics. Nice work anyway.

simvig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Thank you all! The stuttering is because the code is horribly unoptimized. I can't reproduce the crashes though...

@LrdKzrth try the version with the bundled JRE.
@gmaker the whole code is one big hack. I would never write a real program like that.

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Your code assumes that "Data/Images" is the same as "Data/images", which is not true on Linux. Linux users can run this game by unzipping it into a directory and then doing:

cp -R Data/Images/ Data/images
java -Djava.library.path=`pwd` -jar ville.jar

(I haven't played it through, yet - but at least it runs :-))

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Fun little game! Reminds me a bit of the Settlers series. It runs a bit slow at the end, though. The graphics are very nice, I like the building progress, and the fact that they build what seems like stone streets, and so on. Maybe a bit more player influence on the course of the game would have been good - a research tree, or some kind of enemy or something. But overall, this is nicely done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:56am

pretty impressive what you accomplished in 48 hours -- it was even more fun when i figured out the little white dots were the workers! nice job!

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:41pm

A bit quick to finish but lovely nonetheless! I was kinda hoping to make something similar myself, but then it became... something different.

michail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

It really gets slow after a while. But I like everything else about it, especially the explanation why you need gold to build bridge :)

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:33am

Seemed to be an interesting game. We don't see RTSs often in LD, although it took quite a while to get going.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:30am

Settlers simplified, fits the theme. Sadly there is no real challenge in the game, but it was fun to play. Some music would have been great.

thedaian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:24am

A pretty enjoyable game, though there seems to be massive lag spikes when the villagers actually hit the buildings to construct them. Overall, the messages in the game were pretty funny, and it's a pretty fun bit of building for a while.

acro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Strangely compelling! Hats off to you for making something like this for a 48h contest! I have not yet found out the 'secret' but the bridge building caption was worth playing for, so far. I had to guess from other people's comments that it became possible to proceed further than the starting zone... as lots of it isn't apparent. My first attempt led to strangling my economy by building things in the wrong order, but I got past that on a second go. It'd be interesting to know if you had further plans/features for this.

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:38pm

For those still searching for the secret ending - you can't miss it. Meaning, it's always available after the normal ending, until you exit the game.

I do have plans to expand the game, mostly in the story direction and to have more things unlock with time and to give the player control over how each zone is used.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:06pm

massive effort. sir, you've just become our hero.

jpcote says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:24am

Good game ! I love the simple interface. It was fun, more map would be awesome.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Fun! It reminded me of the Stronghold games (although those are the only Settler-type games I've played).

Great deal of fun and humor. I liked the graphics, but I hated the stuttering :L

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]