April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

grow.

by hughsk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grow is an arcade game - minimalistic in both style and gameplay. Part of the game is working out how the mechanics fit together, so I won't delve to deep into an explanation. Try it and see. Enjoy!

The full source is available at http://github.com/hughsk/ludum-dare-26/ if you're curious, though it's pretty awfully messy.

Tested and works on Chrome - unsure of support in other browsers, unfortunately that will have to wait until tomorrow :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#153Theme4.00
#208Graphics3.65
#326Mood3.18
#515Innovation3.17
#610Overall3.12
#683Audio2.49
#864Fun2.65
#899Humor1.79

Comments

shama says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Awesome game that fits the theme beautifully.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

It does fit the theme, but there doesn't seem to be much going on. It was hard to tell which small dots would hurt me and which wouldn't. The controls were frustrating. I thought maybe it was gravity-based, but it seemed more random. Also got rather low FPS, maybe 10 or so.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

very nice looks! had a good feeling! but the controls were a bit wonky.

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Yeah, you guys are right that the controls are a bit wonky - wish I could switch it out but too late now I guess! Thanks for the feedback :)

Also: there's issues with the game not loading when your browser doesn't support audio, which I'll get to fixing tonight.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

the graphics are really nice and worth of the minimalistic label, but i thing that some background reference would have helped to discern the speed and acceleration of your movement.

Smaxx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Seems to work fine in IE10, but I'm not really sure of the Overall Goal of the game.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really really nice! Showing the buttons on the circles is a lush touch. Consider perhaps adding some more static items in the world to make it possible to gauge your direction and speed?

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Really nice minimal style game. The player movement can seem a bit lost when there is no reference to judge it by. Some star-field sort of effect, or some parallax particles may have helped. Still nice.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

As the other said, frustrating controls make the game hardly playable (Chrome / Win7). It's a shame, because it's beautiful, I get what I'm supposed to do and I want to play more...

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

It's pretty nice

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Was really lovely aesthetically, definitely keeping to the minimalist theme. It all reminded me quite a bit of the game "flOw". The color channel offset when you got hit was a really nice effect.

I liked the lack of written instructions (besides the one instruction: "grow"), and the fact that you were guided by more visual things in the world rather than being explicitly told "do this, get that". It took me a little bit of time to work out what was going on, but once I understood (I think I understood..) I found it enjoyable. I'll have to come back and give this one another go later.

I think some ambient music wouldn't have gone a miss, but overall it felt rather enjoyable and very in line with the theme. Nice work!

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:58am

I like this game, Awesome!
When I figure out the gameplay, it feel so good.
Good job!:D

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:01am

Thanks for the kind words, rxi - that's exactly what I was going for. Hoping for a more "show, don't tell" kind of experience. I'll have to give you and the others' games a try!

Turns out there was a pretty significant bug in the controls when using the arrow keys, but not WASD. This is fixed now, so if anyone had trouble before and reads this you should give it another shot :)

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:29am

Not sure I totally figured it out, but it looked nice and my score increased! :)

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:23am

The damage effect is really awesome. Totally hit on a really cool flow-like vibe. Wish it had some relaxing ambient music!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:26am

I just hid at first, I didnt want to grow. Then when I finally left my bubble I ran into darkness and got scared by a sound. Yea... that was my adventure.

CrazyGage says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:47am

Love the look and feel of it. good use of the theme too!

evoker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:30am

Really nice visuals and sound. The obscure mechanics were initially fun to discover and experiment with but I never really "got" it. (My own fault for not being patient enough!)

marnaouf says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:59am

Really fun game. Really does fit the theme very nicely

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:37am

Beautiful, simple,fun, minimalist, smooth, great

Merkoth says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Not really sure what was going on, but I really liked the style. Nice job!

May 6, 2013 @ 5:56am

Interesting idea! I like the low-fi-ness.

Controls are a bit iffy though. Why does the ball tend to "jump" to certain areas?

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Really polished game and good atmosphere and concept, but maybe a bit repetitiv.

May 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Sorry, your game is very clean but it freeze after a few minutes ...and I still didn't understand the goal and why it's so difficult to move =(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]