April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FFFFFF-

by Metamist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game that was very much inspired by the game VVVVVV.

## Instructions
W / Space = Jump
A = Move left
D = Move right
S = Crouch
E = Use (Only works on the portal when it's activated)
And some more keys that i'd rather not spoil, the game will tell you these keys when it's time.


The game does have custom levels implemented, but it might be a bit complicated for some due to the way it loads levels.

First of all, to make a custom level you need to go to the folder with the game, and then into the "levels" folder. Here you need to create 3 files, and they have to be named properly like this:
<levelname>.png
<levelname>ents.png
<levelname>back.png

replace <levelname> with the name of your level.

<levelname>.png handles normal tiles that you collide with.
<levelname>ents.png handles entities.
<levelname>back.png handles the background tiles.

Each color on these images represents a different tile or entity, you can find the list right here:
http://puu.sh/2Jb1e.txt


It might look a bit complicated for some, but i'll try to explain it. On the spikes, the Blue value in the color represents the rotation. 75 is 90 degrees, and 225 is 270 degrees.

On the lasers however, x represents how far the laser will go. This is calculated by multiplying the length you want the laser to go by 10. Horizontal lasers always go to the right when added. Vertical lasers always goes down when added.
The y value represents the bounds of the laser. 230 is 2 blocks, 240 is 3 blocks and so on.

The elevator is the same as the lasers.

I hope you understand all of this! Have fun!

## Requirements

XNA Framework 4
.Net Framework 4.5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Graphics3.47
#520Overall3.20
#610Fun2.93
#1103Innovation2.27
#1266Theme2.53
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

The game crashes when I try to load it:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: ludumdare26.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 517e7bb3
Problem Signature 04: Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game
Problem Signature 05: 4.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 4c72cd09
Problem Signature 07: 134
Problem Signature 08: 60
Problem Signature 09: AQRZ5UNGVPAAKLRWFFK35BWUV213BMTN
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

First impression : Wow, cool graphisms, and the music remind me of Zelda on GBC :D
Second impression : Guy, this is way too hard, the gravity is too strong ! You die before reaching the spikes !
Third impression : A cube ?! I MUST get the others.
Fourth impression : Okay, I just finished the game... Very good game ! Congratulations (but the gravity is definitly too much strong)

Metamist says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

@LrdKzrth Which OS are you using? Also make sure you have the latest version of XNA Framework (4.0) and .Net Framework (4.5), maybe try to reinstall them. I've never encountered this error so i'm not really sure what's wrong. It's definately not the code, it's something on your end :/

@Colisan, Thanks! Now that I think about, I can agree on the gravity part, I didn't have very much time to test the game enough because I was short on time in the end.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I really love the look at feel of the game. It is, indeed, very VVVVVV esque. It's insanely hard though. I can't figure out where to go at all - I get stuck everywhere I try. Any tips?

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Nice game like the concept! well done :D

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Great little platformer, feels huge for a game made in 48 hours, I'm impressed. Agreed with earlier comments though, the gravity is too strong. Not sure where the theme is in this, but as a game it's very enjoyable, good job.

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

ok its very vvvvv like, but really fun to play. It's a bit hard though and the hit detection of the spikes isn perfekt. I like it. +1 for the death counter

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

i like the mood of the game but it was way too hard. didn't get to any checkpoint other than the first 2 :(

berareu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Wow, I don't even know how I managed to finish it! It's very good and sooo hard! The spikes could be a little more forgiving, they're so frustrating :P

May 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Doesn't work for my Win XP (32bit) laptop. :(

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

It's a competent platformer especially for a 48h job, but it has no original ideas of it's own, which is a shame.

Also:
-I found the music to be quite annoying and there was no mute in game.

-The first additional mechanic should reset every time you touch ground rather than after a timer, I think.

-Respawning could be manual, rather than automatic, so that one would get a better idea of what the character just smashed into.

-I think I found a potato as well.

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Very nice entry, really hard for those that didn't played hardcore platformers like me. I got the first cube but gave up on finding the other ones. I might come back to your game a few times though :)

I felt the hitbox was a unfair sometime I don't know if this was on purpose.

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I got stuck in the upper and right routes and only got the orb from the lower route. It is really really hard, the gravity should be lighter and the character perhaps a little smaller so there could be a little more room. Nice game, overall.

Metamist says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:00pm

The hitboxes are as perfect as they can be when it comes to rectangle bounds, it's just the human brain making you think it's weird due to the strong gravity. I noticed this too but never got the time to change gravity and possibly redesign the level due to the gravity change.
I know I should have told you all this, but in order to go past the lower right spikes, you need to get 2 cubes and unlock the air dash ability (lower left and upper left paths). I also didn't get time to do the respawning stuff, but I was going to. I only had about 20 minutes after the level design + main menu was done.
And the potato was an easter egg :)

May 3, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Funny game, i like it

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Fun and really difficult. Unforgiving controls make me feel like I suck. Which I do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]