Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Integrate

by Bloated Hippo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this action puzzle game, you must switch your color from Green, Purple, Blue and Red in order to collect Triangles, Squares, Pentagons and Hexagons.

If your current color, as indicated by the background, isn't the same one as a particular shape's that you touch, it's Game Over!

W: Switch to Green Triangle
S: Switch to Purple Square
A: Switch to Blue Pentagon
D: Switch to Red Hexagon

Mouse: Move

My first Ludum Dare and my first game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#299Theme3.81
#336Innovation3.41
#367Fun3.19
#505Audio2.78
#520Overall3.20
#767Mood2.67
#1002Graphics2.45

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Clever idea

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

Web link seems to have "access denied".

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24am

Nice concept and fun to play.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

It would be neat if there were some indication of when new shapes were going to pop in - I kept losing due to shapes just up and appearing where my mouse is. It's great for a first game, though!

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

Pretty good, but it felt unfair that shapes spawned ON the cursor.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

Good concept, easy to understand and play.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

I updated the web link and thanks all, I've gotten some good ideas so far to improve the spawning.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

Interesting but we can't understand the goal without the explain which is not in game.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Cool game, Needs a simpler instruction set but once I understood what to do I thought it was a good idea

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Cool concept! And well done on your first LD and first game :D

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very nice concept!. Is it your first game? good job!, really liked it :).

magnpeas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Something about this game is addictive

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice ^^. It's funny.

jtzp4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice idea!

mikeware says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I had to read the rules a few times, also didn't help that the keyboard wasn't responding until I clicked in the swf. The idea's interesting though, you can definitely get into it once you figure it out. Maybe it would help if you made your cursor a small version of whatever shape you had currently active instead of a background color? And maybe start off with one shape and add others a few seconds at a time to ease the player into the game and then tell them how to switch one at a time.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Had a lot of fun with this game! It's a very very good first entry - you kept it simple and got execution just right.

Took a little bit of learning time to not have to look at the control cheat sheet every time, but eventually I figured the logic.. triangle points up, square is down, and pentagons have red/blue colors for right/left.

I'm really impressed in how balanced you've seem to have kept this LD. I always have scope problems (want to do a game that's too big) but you didn't fall into that trap, which is really really good.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Thanks everyone for the comments/suggestions/feedback.

I will implement a intro/directions screen to fix two problems with one solution (clicking in swf and having to read directions outside of game)

Also someone else mention dvorak support which I'll do too.

And I'm going to add a "shadow" shape to indicate where something will spawn so that you have time to react and move away without it revealing what shape it will be. Either that or make shapes not spawn on player which I know can be annoying.

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

This is strangely hypnotic. Nice job keeping things simple while still providing a fun experience!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:11pm

That was a really cool idea for your first game and a solid entry for your first LD. Good use of theme! Liked the music too.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

Games like that shows how to stick with a so hard theme and yet be creative and fun. Really well done.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:23am

Came back to this, happy to see the web link work. Surprisingly entertaining. This would have been worth my 99 cent download on the App Store as-is, I definitely played it a few times. I got up to.... 37 I think as my top score. I could totally imagine seeing YouTube videos people doing amazing speedruns of this game or something like that.

N427 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Neat idea and implemented well. It has lots of potential, if you worked on it a bit more it could be awesome. Maybe control a guy walking around? Also, you should change it so shapes can't spawn on top of you.

Anyway, very fun to play and I liked it.

Stryphe says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nice idea

nimblegorilla says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Cool game and really clean graphics. I think you should add directions for WASD to the game itself, I couldn't figure it out until I came back and read the directions on this page.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 4:00am

Thank you all who played rated and commented on my game. I'm tweaking and improving it and plan on releasing a new and improved version soon :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]