April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BatMinimalizer

by Vaalen - Jam Entry

My first participation to the Ludum Dare. I made it with GameMaker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#181Humor(Jam)2.54
#378Fun(Jam)2.62
#416Audio(Jam)2.03
#453Mood(Jam)2.34
#464Overall(Jam)2.61
#474Theme(Jam)2.58
#485Innovation(Jam)2.14
#503Graphics(Jam)2.27

Comments

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Good idea, not to tell what exactly got stolen! (What was it?) The game was a bit to hard for me, though.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

It was an al-right game, bit strange but fun to shoot pellets from a bat.. :)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Was fun but a bit confusing..

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Was fun, but enemies and their projectiles is way to small for my poor eyesight .)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

A good little game, the sound a little annoying through

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice concept. Too bad it becomes insanely difficult way too fast. And bad collisions can be frustrating.

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

that was hardcore :D

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Of all games I've played up now this one probably has the best story arc and the best boss fight.

euske says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I prefer the game to start in a windowed mode.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19am

I thought it was fun, but totally missed the health bar the first time thru. Oops!

The controls were hard...for me. Perhaps support WASD since the mouse is necessary for shooting.

Great job for your first Ludum Dare. It was my first too! :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43am

Nice game! Well done :)

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Can't play, have a mac.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice game.
The bulletstorms were fun, but fighting the turrets wasn't the best idea in general. It was easier to just storm past them. The multiple doors seemed to have the task to hinder progress a bit, but sometimes you could smash one and hide behind the second half of it.
The ending was nice^^

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:51am

If you want to use small sprites you should make ther hitbox larger so shooting would be easier for player. Also some shots go through enemies, to prevent this you should either make slower shots and enemies or making step when you move your shots for example : move 3 pixel, test collisions, move 3 pixel, test collisions etc. If you make enough steps in a frame, your shot should not go through enemies anymore.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:30am

This game resized my desktop and made all my windows funky sizes. Also, the collision seems a bit off, as I could manage to get myself stuck inside walls. Interesting concept, though.

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:41am

The game works pretty well and bullet storm are really fun.
After that gameplay is kind of simple but is ok, maybe that movespeed of the bat could have been a bit higher (not for difficulty but for feeling).

NateNaterson says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Couldn't quite understand what was going on... to be honest I got confused.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Though I didn't get very far (I am horrible at these types of games) I really enjoyed playing this. The sounds did get a bit annoying after a while. Great job for a first entry!

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Kinda hard but it was worth it!

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Kinda hard, but good. The audio was a bit annoying though.

Also, the collision detection was buggy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]