April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Miniwallism

by dapierce - Jam Entry

You are a square dodging walls. If you get hit, you lose a chunk of yourself, but if you can hit the side of a wall as it comes you will add it to yourself and get bigger. Your score will only increase if you take risks and hit or get hit by walls.

Use arrow keys to move.

Made with help from Foundation Game Design with HTML5 and JavaScript by Rex van der Spuy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#58Theme(Jam)3.97
#112Innovation(Jam)3.47
#257Fun(Jam)2.94
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#442Graphics(Jam)2.58
#450Mood(Jam)2.36

Comments

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

concept sounds interesting but the game wont load and just stays on a blue screen.

dapierce says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I had only been testing in Chrome--it turns out requestAnimationFrame is Chrome only, so I needed a sham to make it work in other browsers--it should be playable now.

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Difficult to hit the sides of walls, and it's annoying that the page must be refreshed each time you die. Apart from that, however, good little concept, very theme-appropriate.

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

Cool concept, it is frustrating that there is no easy way to restart but the game mechanic is original and enjoyable

NateNaterson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Neat concept! Was a little rough around the edges (no way to reset?) though

icedcola says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

Great concept. I like that you start picking and choosing the best walls to collect by looking at what's ahead. I also liked that I felt really safe when I was a big wall, but that I was actually in more danger. Just changing the size of the dropping walls changes how useful they are to collect and how dangerous they are, which fits the theme well :)

Shigor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20am

Pretty good idea with the growing, but it feels just like a test of the mechanics - no restart is annoying.

chowdy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:42am

Wish you could retry without having to reload the page. It's fun to take risks to grow your block.

dapierce says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19am

I have updated the game with game over text and the ability to restart.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:20am

Nice concept (i'm not reallygood, jiscore : 97 ... but i like it !)

boxerbomb says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The games great with music it would be better though.

Milktoast says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Hey this is a pretty cool game. It's simple, but you've managed to pack a lot of fun in there. Good job.

Tipyx says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:43am

Very interresting concept but I think there is a lack of challenge...

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:26am

Love it!

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:49am

Really cool game, took me a minute to realize you could hit the sides to grow.

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:27am

My best was 72. Interesting game concept, but not too complex, and not much to it - would love to see some more features/options.

Spiridios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Interesting dodge game. Definitely needs sound (I know not a trivial concept in HTML5 at this point). Given that the instructions are so short, including them in-game might help those of us that like to try before reading. I at first thought I found a bug when I learned of the grow aspect by accident. Then I read and found out that was a major point of the game. =p

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]