April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

essentia

by andrewkennedy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
WASD to move
Space to jump
Mouse click to interact

Software Used: Unity and Photoshop

This was my first Ludum Dare competition. I set out to create an experience that was not only visually appealing but also thought provoking. I started practicing pixel art recently, so the art direction turned into an interesting blend of pixel art and paper cutout art (Example: http://tinyurl.com/cwx489e). I was struck by the way that the shadows gave depth and detail to the simple shapes cutout from the paper.

The ending is very open-ended, interpret it how you will.

Thanks for checking out my game, hope you enjoy!

Note: The textures will probably render better in the EXE version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#100Graphics3.92
#342Mood3.16
#406Overall3.31
#741Fun2.78
#782Innovation2.84
#858Humor1.84
#1022Theme3.00
#1090Audio1.12

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37am

THAT IS THE BEST CAVE I'VE EVER SEEN

jgnilka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37am

This was awesome

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Love the art style! Nice job!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Very clever... Nice shadows as you say... The Valve/tap before the boat doesn't work after restart, which is a shame.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

Not sure what to do after "Free yourself", flew really high and found nothing. Great work though. Needed some sound and some way to lose (a challenge)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

Cool... but did I get to the end, or did I miss something?

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Neat!!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

The visuals were fantastic. I flew all the way to the top, but couldn't go any further. Hope I didn't miss anything...

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Thanks for the encouragement everyone! It seems that the ending was a little too open-ended though. Next time I'll be more deliberate!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

Really great gameplay! I really enjoyed the combination of platforming + point & click! Graphics were really cute!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Couldn't tell if the game was over after getting wings. good work though

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

You almost lost me with the generic side-scrolling at the start--but then it kept changing and getting awesome. nice.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Great graphics! Sadly, there seems to be few bugs that make game hard to play. Moving playform in cave left without me and I can't find it again. And restart won't help, only starting from the beginning.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

Cute game, I like the graphics :)

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great graphics and feel! got a little bored on the initial walk, but dont let that be weiging you down.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:05am

Interesting. You should develop this further. I got to the end and flew around but found no exit.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:39am

Great game! I like how it jumps right in, and all the different interactive objects really fit well for this game, great job!

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:35am

Lovely art-style, a little confused by the ending.

recursor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:35am

The source link is broken

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:24am

Fun and skillfully crafted!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:31am

Is that a very sad ending? Maybe I'm over interpreting but flying as an angel, dead, finding no exit, no way to go, was really a nice poetic finale.

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:27am

Great job! graphics are amazing and conxept is great

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:27am

Pretty neat game! Not sure if I completed it or not though?

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:39am

Really liked this one, very beautiful art style. Getting wings was awesome. :)

lotusgame says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:13am

A really cute start ! The end is a bit frustrating as it takes a while to understand it's over. With a music, the experience would be nicer.

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This is great, very unique :)

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:35pm

It seems like a piece of art, but it`s too abstract. There is not enough gameplay. The beginning was too long, the rest was too short. From the graphic side the game is awesome.
...what is that gray ball anyway?..

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:40am

really nice -- some nice background music would have been good -- great job!

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I had 2x bugs that forced me to restart from the beginning.
The first time, I somehow broke my jump... It means that my character can't jump as far and high than before. If I use the restart icon, it brings me back to the the purple crystal cavern and I can't pass the first jump anymore. So I add to restart. On my second try I was in a hurry to reach the cloud zone and I missed the 3rd green platform two times. on my third try I saw it sinking in the abyss and it never came back. Once again the restart icon was no use T_T ... I didnt had the courage to restart a third time because of the long sequence. For the part I visited, the gfx are very good, and the game have a nice athmosphere.

I'm surprised I was the only one experiencing thoses bugs... My config is window xp on some old netbook NC10.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The collocated instructions and introduction of colors interested me. If you continue to develop this, I couldn't figure out how to make the boat go. I clicked the ore and it rotated, but the boat did not move.

xploitgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Lovely pixel art style! A great spin on the theme. Draining of color was unique. Would have really liked to hear a soundtrack.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]