April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

austerity

by wlovas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an exploration of minimalism in game design, loosely in the tradition of text adventures, offering one personal perspective -- the author's -- on an answer to the question, "What is a game?" It strives to retain an austerely minimal aesthetic while incorporating many classic elements seemingly essential to game design: interactivity, discover, surprise, rewards, ... and a twist!

Also, speed runs.

Written as a console app using pure SML '97 with no libraries or nothin'. The source should compile under pretty much any SML compiler; i used SML/NJ and MLton to develop. Binaries are available for ancient OS X, antique Windows, and quasi-modern Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I don't know what I'm meant to be doing. Nothing I typed seem to work.

wlovas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Keep trying! :)

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

I was able to get farther than the first commenter but I still don't know what is happening.

wlovas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Well, I hesitate to give too much away, but I suspect a common failure mode is overthinking it. Try pretending that you don't know anything about how games work.

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I don't understand!

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I liked it. A good, satisfying abstract question & answer game.

titi987 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I can't play on Linux.
Unable to launch binairy file.

dick_claus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:53am

Nice exloration and logic game. I managed to finish it. At first it was not obvious, but later I figure out the logic and learn it. It is interesting how our brain will learn and start teach somebodies different logic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]