April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

NightCap

by MrShoestore - Jam Entry

In NightCap (aka Drunk Hipster), ShuddaHaddaLottaFun Studios first Ludum Dare entry, you assume the inebriated identity of a wayward Portland hipster named Chuck as he attempts to drunkenly navigate his way home from a night of boozing. However, this proves more difficult than it should be. Along the way you will encounter angry dogs, terrifying cliffs, and a bevy of other obstacles hell bent on keeping you from your warm, cozy, hipstery pad. What are you to do? Drink more, of course! As you down drink after drink yo begin to see things differently, lighting the pathway home toward your coveted porcelain throne. But be careful, because in NightCap (aka Drunk Hipster) too much of a good thing really can be too much!

CONTROLS - Left/Right arrow keys to move, Up arrow to jump, Z to drink

(plus a secret action button!)


We tried to do something different with the theme of Minimalism. Our idea was that drinking simplified things, making things more pixelated, and finally a simple minimalistic style. This simplifying changed the way you interacted with the world.

This was a first for us in so many ways. First jam. First Game. First time using Stencyl. First time doing Pixel Art.


Our scope was a little big Art wise, which lead to filler art being used in a lot of places. Having only one artist without a drawing tablet made it tough to complete a lot of detailed pixel art in one weekend. But there is some really good stuff in there.


Expect a Post-Mortem at some point in the future. This not only being our first LD, but also our first game, it was quite the experience! We look forward to sharing our up-chucks and down-chucks throughout the weekend.


Guns Up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#13Humor(Jam)3.97
#74Innovation(Jam)3.61
#174Mood(Jam)3.27
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#178Audio(Jam)3.24
#188Overall(Jam)3.34
#219Theme(Jam)3.42
#265Graphics(Jam)3.23

Comments

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

I liked this game before it was cool.

Seriously though pretty cool game you got there, full points on innovation/audio clever use of both.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

HA! Hilarious VO work! Very innovative approach to the theme, and a great concept for a puzzle platformer. Taking the light/dark world thing to another level!

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really funny game, but the art was rather bad.

Also, restarting at the bar every time was not very fun.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I couldn't really figure out what to do at the dog :( I went back to the bar a few times like a true alcoholic.

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

this was pretty hilarious. i thought getting under the stairs would lead to something cool, but i just fell off the edge of the world! great concept, but man were the controls frustrating. also the blind jump off the bird with very little background to judge even how far it'd moved wasn't cool. throw in a marker somewhere!

also best ending sequence

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I think this game was better before it went all commercial.

Liked it, really dig the shifting between different ethanolic realities :).

Took me a while to figure out, but that did give me a pretty cool feeling when I did.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@joe40001 Thanks! but this game liked cool before it was game..waitwat?

@SonnyBone There was supposed to be a bit more VO that bugged out on export, but I'm glad you liked it.

@SuperDisk A lot of that came down to time, which we had none of, so we used a lot of filler stuff/cheats.

@FrozenCow Drink! Then maybe drink some more!

@vandriver Yeah... the jump... Basically there was a lightpost puzzle that went there... well would have gone there... also, the game ended the only way it could.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55am

Cool twist on the shifting realities idea. My favorite part was jumping on the bird. My game features a hipster arranging furniture - maybe it is a sequel to this one - haha.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

It's so humor and fun :D!
Pretty interesting concept and idea!

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05pm

The idea is very cool!

It was a little hard to play, because it was not immediately clear to me, which parts of the level change when you drink ( = on which you can jump, and when).

For your first game this is good work.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:43pm

OMG so freakin killer. Game designer on a bender.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:18am

Cool use of different level designs based on drunkenness. Given the length of the game, I'm guessing the new technology, artist availability, and first time in the competition limited the scope.

May 7, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I like the concept. It was a pretty clever mechanic. A little odd that there are 3 "levels" of drunkenness/perception, but you never get to go back to the 1st one. It just alternates between the last two. But still pretty neat.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Fun and interesting mecanic (having a limited time to do whatever needs to be done in the alternate reality). However it appears I went too far to the right and then the game restarted from the beginning, which was annoying.
The behaviour of the moving platform was strange; I believe the first time the character followed it automatically, while the second time it didn't and I had to press left or right to stay on top of it.

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:17am

awesome idea, really great job guys,

May 12, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Cool game, these hipsters appear to be a big thing in this LD, I wonder why... Also, what is that drink he is drinking, must be awesome stuff !!! ;)

theomnis says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Damn hipsters and their bird riding!

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:31am

Great idea and innovative mechanics! Had some issues running off the right side of the screen and the game restarting at the house, and would have liked to see the ground while riding the bird, to make the jump a bit more intuitive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]