April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Red

by artifex - Jam Entry

The game Red uses the Keys C, V and arrows.

C and V rotate the camera to help you notice possible platforms nearby.

The arrows let you manipulate the current platform where the potato (ball) is located.

The goal is land the ball in the red area.

There are 3 scenes.

The game was made with Unity 4 free.

This entry belongs to the Jam because It uses iTween , a former shader that I like and the sounds are from other people.

Computer sound
http://www.grsites.com/archive/sounds/category/4/?offset=192

Music
http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Volfoniq/
Select sound
http://evanrogers.us/soundbyter2/wp-content/uploads/www.soundbyter.com-selectsound.mp3
http://www.soundbyter.com/terms/

Any doubt or comment, please feel free to contact me in omar.verduga , I'm using gmail. ;)

Versions for Apple and Linux users are coming, is only that I'm hitting my deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#226Theme(Jam)3.40
#265Graphics(Jam)3.23
#328Innovation(Jam)2.79
#382Mood(Jam)2.60
#385Humor(Jam)1.67
#402Overall(Jam)2.80
#504Fun(Jam)2.14

Comments

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

The graphics were really sharp and the music was bumping. It would have been nice to have a vertical rotation, or some way to know the target location besides trial and error. Nice Job!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

The isometric view just really wasn't working for me. Found it very difficult to know where I was going.

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

A mouselook type of view would be helpful instead of the c and v - it was hard to see where the ball was going.

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Needs shadows. I couldn't tell where I was going.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

I found the controls confusing, but the concept and graphics were nice :)

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

It was confusing at first to start have the ball rolling (one needs to have the block touch the roll to start its physics); a nice twist to 'marble-madness'/'marble-maze'-like gameplay
Good soundtrack!

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Love the aesthetic and the music, but the goal and controls are very unclear. This would also work much better on something like the 3DS, where the depth is easier to judge.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Ahh, I can't see where I'm going

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Agree on mouselook for the camera. Also perhaps some indication of rotation alignment for the keys shown on the blocks? The music is beautiful, very nice indeed.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

The core idea of this was pretty neat, but it ends up both being too hard to tell where the ball is going, and too easy to accidentally fall off and land on the massive goal. There weren't enough levels afterwards to give a lot of material to explore the mechanics, and it all came down to dumping the ball off the level so it misses the platforms and hits the goal.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nod bad, a little tough to get used to. It would be nice to have the ability to scroll the map before you start moving.

I'm really happy to see these unity entries working on linux!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Good use of Theme. Audio was top notch. Agree with the other points made.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Interesting idea + nice realization :)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I like the idea. Gameplay is a little awkward, but it was fun.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

in axonometrical 3D perspective is hard to tell where are things. and if objects are floating without connections between them it makes it even harder. you could have used a perspective camera. it has some bugs and needs polishing but overall is a good idea, keep working on it :)

tzamora says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:14am

osx version seems to be wrong.

nintendoeats says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:02am

I really like the concept and the look. I wish that the ball was textured so that I could get some sense of how fast it was rolling and where it was i 3D space. I also didn't feel super confident in how the keys were going to affect the rotation of the platform, or even of which platform I was controlling. I think that a little bit more UI is in order.

Solid work!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:49am

I like the idea, of moving the platform the ball is touching to let it roll towards your goal.

Unfortunately, you can't tell where your goal is when you're just starting, and the level design is such that I won all three levels by accidentally dropping the ball onto the cylinder platform when I was trying to make it go somewhere else.

So, neat idea, but the execution needs work, I'm afraid.

Cool music, though!

fishbrain says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Quite nice, but the ball needs a shadow.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Good work on this! It's tough at first to control the blocks, but in the end it worked great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]