April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maximus Minimalist

by Alexander - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gladiator fan fic. Because Maximus was not a Minimalist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#184Humor2.97
#599Innovation3.07
#703Audio2.45
#1094Fun2.34
#1113Mood2.24
#1234Overall2.38
#1264Theme2.54
#1284Graphics1.93

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

well -- you get extra points from me for using maximus in the title -- too frustrating trying to get to the top -- killing the tiger was fun too -- nice effort

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

I keep getting stuck under blocks. What do the tigers do?

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

Interesting concept, a bit frustrating trying to play tetris with not-great feeling interactions. Thought the tiger jumping was pretty hilarious though.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

This was interesting....

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

That's a pretty cool game concept. The ledge-grabbing mechanic is actually a certain degree of genius. I also quite like the music. And yes, the tiger is hilarious.

Weirdly, I can't actually think of anything bad to say about it. I guess you should with the LD.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51am

That tiger kept things interesting. He was easy to shut down after a while. Only took me 2 tries to win. Not bad. Doesn't fit the theme in anything but name, to me.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53am

the collision seems a bit odd

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Fairly interesting, but it was a shame that it wasn't too stable. I had it crash when I got stuck inside pieces and after I got to the end and killed the boss. But setting it to run in windows XP compatibility mode seemed to help (running Windows 8 x64). There were definitely some cool ideas in there though :)

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The main concept is good, yet a bit off the theme.
The controls feel a bit weird at times and the collision response on the blocks is awkward. I don't really get what the tiger does.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

That was hilarious to me. Cool idea too.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

Gladiator, Tetris & tiger, what can I ask for?

Galvesmash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:32am

Great Game man! Lovely tiger keeps attacking me while I try to put an end to Maximus head! D:

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:09am

Woah alright - liking the music! Weird how I just get stuck under blocks, but I enjoyed it, nice work!

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40pm

The idea of climbing a stream of falling Tetris blocks was pretty good. If that was all that the game was about, I would give it much more marks.

Regardless of the theme, this is an example case where putting a lid on your source of ideas, and working with what you already got makes things much better.

The tiger (while hilarious) distracted a lot from the main idea (climb tetris), and makes the game looks poorer - the semi-realistic sprites also don't help much.

I think if you remade it as a very minimalistic (ha!) game about an abstract hero climbing down a tetris wall, it would have been superb.

Congratulations on the idea, anyway, and see you next LD!

free_napalm says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice mechanic, but it's not coherent at all with the setting. This combination makes it pretty funny though.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Because of this game, I made a boo-boo.

***END TRANSMISSION***

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:57pm

No but really, this has some clever things, like playing Tetris from inside the game and the ledge-grabbing. Not sure if genius or madman.

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:55am

That's kind of a bizarre game, indeed, but with some nice ideas worth exploring further. I like the idea of this kind of inverse-Tetris mechanic, and I think the tiger keeps things interesting by pushing you around in what would otherwise have been a pretty easy game.

On the other hand, I don't feel this game fits the theme that well. Having simplistic sprites that do not match the rest of the game, or nothing but a plain colored background, along with the plain ugly head that floats around makes it look underdeveloped, not minimalistic.
The poor implementation doesn't help on that front, either.

All in all, I think there's enough potential on the main idea to keep on working on this game beyond the constraints of the LD.

Congratulations! :)

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:12am

I love the overall gameplay concept - climbing a growing Tetris sculpture which you can reshape to an extent. It's well worth polishing into a full game.

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

Weird game - perhaps I just don't get it. That's ok, I completed it, at least :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:39am

Hah, hilarious idea! I found it hard to play (got stuck under blocks), but it was original...and funny :)

May 3, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Neat mash-up, could benefit from tuning but good concept.

TheFudster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:40am

Very interesting idea. I got buried by the blocks pretty quickly though XD

May 5, 2013 @ 3:19am

Interesting concept although I didn't find it fun to play, I can still appreciate the idea behind it

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice game!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:28am

I found the game to be good... unusual... very unusual... but good :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]