April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Polymorph

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#67Audio(Jam)3.70
#69Humor(Jam)3.20
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#218Overall(Jam)3.29
#240Theme(Jam)3.36
#304Graphics(Jam)3.05

Comments

fizzics says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Great game. I liked the voiceover and the changing music. Matches the theme perfectly. Some of the stages are hard though :)

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Very nice minimalist but great graphics !
Physic is well with some strange movement sometime

Frigolit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

Pretty difficult but interesting game, I like the idea. The narration is a nice addition.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

I got stuck very early on, but my platform skills are horrible. The voice-over is a great way to introduce the game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

Pretty cool - I enjoyed it!

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Interesting idea for a game. Pretty funny ending. The graphics were not so great, but not terrible. The gameplay was very enjoyable and a little challenging at times. Music was pretty good, and I do like how the music changes when you change shape. Narration was a clever idea, I like it.

Overall, it was fun and enjoyable. Not sure why the screen shakes when you are the ball, but I'm going to overlook it. The gameplay made... the game :).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

The voice acted narration was great, very Bastion like.

What I did not like about the gameplay was the controls, the ball is hard to manage because it's way too fast and the square is very very slow. Honestly, moving around as the ball was real pain.

But the ending was absolutely hilarious, so it kind of made up for it. It's worth a playthrough.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice game, loved the voice acting :)

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

The narrator is a nice touch! although sometimes you go so fast that he can't finish in time lol! I liked the plant area, when you fall on the "leafs" and all. Sometimes the levels were so dark that I had to really focus my eyes too figure out what did I have in front of me. Nice game overall!

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great work! Most of the positive things I have to say are already said above (I agree with all of them).
The vignette though can be a bit intense and I lose sight of the ball / square when ti goes too high.

Love the Piet Mondrian style backgrounds :)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Great game. The controls are a bit hard, but the voice acting was awesome.

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great work, the idea is very interesting and minimalist, although it's hard to play.
I dont see way to go back after the credits.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

I have to admit, at first I thought "okay so it's a Night Skies clone with Bastion-style voiceovers". But then I started changing into a square, and it was a crazy mix between precision platforming and Sonic-style high momentum rolling. The final level really surprised me and put another lovely twist on it, and the voiceover really added to the mood. It's a really cool game, despite some hiccups like the vertical screen transitions being sudden and choppy, and I hope that you guys will be able to take this concept further post-jam.

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34am

Really nice idea with jumping only as the cube, really adds an element of twitching action! Nice job!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45am

Incredible game! Really enjoyed it!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

Great! I love the concept with the shapes, graphics are pretty simple, so that's a cool game :D

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Difficult - but very cool! The music/transformation is nice.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10am

Very neat game, I like the bastion style narration and the nightsky - type feel. Plays pretty well and solidly. Nice going!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

Great work with the gameplay and changing shapes! I really like the way the music changes between forms. Very challenging without being too unforgiving.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

Great game, I enjoyed all way. Voice acting was epic!

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00am

MadMichaelofMetal (using my brother's account)
As I stated on the LD Relax Stream, the voice acting really brought the best out of the game. It was guiding the player without obstructing the view and providing a well designed atmosphere. Review on the stream.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34am

Great work, the narration really added a lot to the mood.

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36am

I like the narrator, cool idea!

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:49am

A great bastionesque platformer. The physics were a little strange. Good job overall!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22am

Hilarious ending! Nice simple game. Enjoyed it!
It was a little bit too dark in the woods. Had to increase my monitor brightness to see where the ball is.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Simplicity is cool. You proved it again. Great one!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Compelling game mechanics and great voice overs! This one is challenging too!

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Great game. Really fun to play, although some of the difficult parts were more frustrating than challenging. Voiceovers were great.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice game! The controls can be a bit tricky though. I like the graphics and the idea of chaning shape!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:25pm

You watached me play. The physics seem a bit off, but its what made the game unique. You stuck to the theme and still made the game fun. awesome job.

FrozenCow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Cool concept of shape-shifting (literally). The addition of narration was cool too... and potato. I had trouble with the controls though, they didn't feel 'direct' (tapping once made the ball roll quite a lot for instance). Anyway nice game overall!

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

I really like the actual core mechanics, and the changing music was a nice touch.I did feel like the controls were a bit twitchy, and luck was getting me through more often than skill. The level with the falling blocks in particular really came down to guessing at when the right time was to start rolling. The transitions between levels were also very jarring, though I expect you know that.

Also Bastion.

Solid work!

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Well I'm confused. The look of this game and the concept are good, I liked the narator... But I can't go through the first gap. And I really tried! The physic seems to change every input. I cannot rate it now, have to try more... Sad.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Narration sounded nice. The music is rather catchy, even more with that nice twist when you transform.

The controls could be better. Often times the ball accelerates way too fast, bouncing off walls to the opposite direction or straight to limbo.

I find that the falling blocks/spikes part was way exaggerated, to say the least, in the sense that I beat it out of pure luck.

Oh and I noticed that once I got in the credits screen I couldn't get back to main menu.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I think everything has already been mentioned in the above comments regarding some of the control and movement quirks, so this is to say I really enjoyed this. Well Done =]

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:15am

Loved the minimalistic Nightsky take on this game. The narrator is a great plus. The controls need a bit of fine tunning. The levels are fun and a bit hard but very compelling. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]