April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Succession

by chrysiridia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

doubles as an atmospheric black metal album cover art generator

Warning: Inaccurate in-game botany alert (I'm not happy about it, the biology student in me is weeping)

In the context of botany, succession refers to the settlement of plants in places that either weren't inhabited by an ecological community previously (primary succession) or have been significantly disturbed to allow for new plants to colonize the area and assert dominance (secondary succession).

Lots of dissonant sounds in this one. Save your ears and turn your sound DOWN. (Or don't, but just as a warning.)

This is a slow-ass game, the kind of thing that, in its later stages, is better experienced running in the background. Also, because of the limitations of my toolset, it lags like hell when there's too much stuff on my screen, although it's the kind of game where that isn't really a big deal. That being said, I don't really know how to fix it with what I've got. I'm sorry!

---
EDIT (4/29):
Intentionally vague instructions/explanation:

-The number at the top left corner refers to how many of each seed you have.
-Seed 1 attaches to the screen. The rest fall.
-Use up all of the seeds to reach an end state. (I should have included a "give up" button of some sort. My bad.)
-Looking up how primary succession occurs might help. There's a reason the seeds are associated with the number keys.
-(less vague, added 4/30) Seeds only grow on top of where preceding seeds have grown (e.g. seed 3 grows on 2), and only if the preceding seeds have grown to a sufficient stage. (I should have made decomposition animations blargh)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#217Innovation3.58
#398Mood3.10
#497Graphics3.11
#574Audio2.68
#737Theme3.35
#882Overall2.87
#1015Humor1.55
#1238Fun2.00

Comments

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

I don't really get what's going on but it is mesmerizing. Actually reminded me a little of Starseed Pilgrim if that's what you were going for =D

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Your description of it being slow, is very accurate!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Dang, this is really cool. It taught me two things. I don't know how to grow things, and I am not patient enough. Love the audio and procedural nature. Great work!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

I love this toybox un-game style. Great choice of sounds, I left it turned up despite your advice. :)

Jerm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Had to play it a couple of times to figure out what to do, so maybe more instructions would be helpful. Not particularly fun (or maybe I'm just too impatient), but definitely moody and interesting. I liked the graphic style that was simple but had lots of detail.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Cool idea, I enjoyed playing around with it.

chrysiridia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Thanks all for the feedback!

karsyf: Haha, I've been playing a lot of SP lately, it definitely shows.

Jerm: I agree that I probably should have included more instruction with it (I tend to get the impression that people can read my mind, I should stop that).

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I wish I had the vaguest of clues of what to do, I really wanted to enjoy this! Sounds really pretty though. Rated you well for the screenshots of what clearly could have been.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

Very moody, not much instruction. Seed selection could use some graphics, but I'm sure you ran out of time. Very interesting work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57am

Hypnotic!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02am

looks good! =)

AlanZucconi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This game is a discovery! :)

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Now that I get it...I think it looks really neat and I like the sounds. Mechanically it didn't strike me, but the "metal album art" generator aspect of it is appealing. And I don't even like Metal. or Metal album art.

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:03am

The atmosphere of the game is very engaging.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:20am

Loving the abstract visuals even if I have a hard time wrapping my head around what exactly is going on.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:33am

Really interesting patterns, and I understood (eventually) what you were trying to do with biological succession. I kind of wish it ran a little faster so I could see them grow in real time. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]