April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mystic Door - by The Mystic Souslik Team

by Tipyx - Jam Entry

Too tired to add somes notes here :p

Work "sometimes" on Chrome, in case of problem, use Mozilla FireFox please :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#83Graphics(Jam)3.97
#130Theme(Jam)3.68
#179Mood(Jam)3.25
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#233Innovation(Jam)3.11
#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#374Humor(Jam)1.71

Comments

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

Fantastic graphics style. Played through the whole thing, just had to know what was behind that awesome door. The lack of sound makes me sad though, and the controls could be smoother, but I love the style and the feel of it.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Works on FireFox finely :) Loved graphics - how everything "builds" from air.

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really nice graphic style! I loved how platforms are coming.
The jump was a little bit annoying.

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Quite a nice game, although I would have liked something to tell me the objective (other than open the door - was there something you had to get, for example). Also, the jumping was a bit jerky - I would have preferred smooth jumping (by using acceleration, presumably).

May 1, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Controls feel a little wonky, but I LOVE the art style and the platforms appearing as you move. Great job with that!

Tipyx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Thanks you all for your feedback ! :)
Yep, we prefer finish the game and add a level than finish set the movement ^^', so, sorry for that :D

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01am

I like the idea of the maze being formed around you.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:12am

The character animation was adorable! And I never get tired of seeing a world spring into existence around me. It left me wanting more, which is always a good thing. ^_^ Thanks!

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:56am

Loved the gimmick with the scenery materializing as I went along. Jumping seems a bit unforgiving, though - I accidentally fell into a pit and was trapped with no way out.

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:50am

Really promising entry, the controls lack a little grooveness and i ended up in a hole blocked, but the style and idea are awesome !

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59pm

When I run the game in Chrome, nothing shows up. I've got a white screen that should be a swf on your website.

Yakka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very beautiful, but the jump is not very smooth :p

May 2, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Wonerful game! Perhaps, lacks some story )
Also jumping is a little bit twitchy.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Loved the idea, and the art style. If you threw in some ambient music, I think it would totally draw the player in. The choppiness of jumping was a little much, but aside from that, I really enjoyed this one. I hope you keep working on it!

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:27pm

very nice :)

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:16am

Nice graphics and revealing effect.

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Like captainkraft I can't run the game in Chrome (28.0.1478.0 beta-m), might want to take a look at that! The graphics are lovely and the effect used to reveal the level is great. I wish it had sound and the controls weren't so clunky, though! But I guess that's something for you to work on in future. Good job!

deepnight says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I really loved the spawn effect of the bricks, but the controls are really annoying: the jumps would have really deserved a little more dev love :)

Tipyx says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Thanks you all for your feedback !
I promise I'll improve the movement/collide and jump :p !

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Great art and animations! Is fun to play!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:48am

fantastic -- too bad there was no sound or music -- could have given higher review -- awesome job

euwaku says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:48am

Cute little game, maybe a little more work on the platformer engine but overall I liked it. The idea of levels appearing in front of your character are giving a real plus-value to thing game, and that for both the graphical and gameplay experiences.

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:36am

I liked the graphics, and that the level is appearing as you move. Really good idea, nicely done. If there was sound it could have been better.

Markavian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:51am

Works on IE, couldn't get it to load in Chrome!
Loved how the levels popped in around you. Would have been good to see the first gem pop into the door after completing the first level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]