April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Paint It Black

by SnoringFrog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make the entire screen black by moving around it while the enemies attempt to undo your work. You can kill them, but if you try and miss you'll get a 5s penalty.

Arrows move. Space eats/attacks. Shift pauses. Ctrl slows player movement down (for getting those pesky single-pixel lines). S toggles music.

There's a bit of a slowdown issue due to the way the win-state is calculated. This can be mostly avoided if you leave some space uncolored near the top-left until near the end of the game.

Developed in XNA/C#
All art done in MS Paint
Music from automaker-c
"Eat" sound from bfxr
Font is "Pixel Square 10" from http://www.dafont.com/pixel-square.font

My first LD. I got lucky with the idea for this one. "Paint It Black" by The Rolling Stones came on Spotify shortly after the theme was released and that's where the idea came from.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#470Humor2.35
#630Audio2.58
#632Theme3.46
#728Innovation2.91
#952Mood2.47
#1027Overall2.70
#1072Fun2.37
#1108Graphics2.29

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Non-XNA link is broken at the moment. :(

AleksandarDev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Great idea, nice game... I didn't manage to play it through cause it starts to lag after a while (i guess you draw rectangle of textures on every move - this must be optimized)

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

mtrc, that link should be fixed now.

Aleksandar - That problem was actually a lot worse previously, though I know it still causes issues. It can be avoided if you leave something near the top-left corner open for most of the game, since the major culprit is the loop to check for the win-condition, which works from top-left to bottom right.

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

Reeeally difficult. Can you actually win? I wont way it wasn't fun though!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:45am

Yes, you can actually win! My final times were usually within 3-7 minutes, depending on how overzealous/inaccurate I got with the space bar.

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:11am

I enjoyed it. I didn't read the part about the spacebar at first so I was thinking that this was impossible.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

I got the lag thing that others mentioned, at about 5 minutes. It was fun before that - I don't know that there's any strategy other than killing all the white guys first and then sweeping out the black, which takes a while. I found that I didn't have great control over my guy, but it was fun to play. Definitely minimalist!

Otoris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32am

I liked it, until it lagged :( Really quite fun concept ^^

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

Can you make a version that doesn't have an installer? I already have the XNA runtimes required so an installer shouldn't be necessary...

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

Dietrich, the first link, the .ccgame, shouldn't require an installer, I believe. It'll unpack the files (kinda works like another zip file), but shouldn't need an install.

Let me know if I'm wrong about that though; I don't have another computer to test it on to check, and this is my first time trying to distribute a game from XNA.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:13am

Listening to the inspiration track certainly enhances this experience.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

After I killed off all the white cubes it didn't feel challenging any more, maybe some more could spawn during the whole game?

I like the concept tho, If it was a bit more challenging I would enjoy it for longer.

Good job!

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

Unable to play because I didn't have a dedicated graphics card in my laptop... I really need to upgrade! (No score given.)

meat_popsicle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

a setup file :(

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Dietrich, meat_popsicle: I'm uploading another version that doesn't use an installer. Let me know if it works or not.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Awesome really cool idea I had a problem running it there was the lag I used the setup file without XNA.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:11am

Can't leave a rating on this one since I'm not on a windows machine.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Sorry about that, frog. As soon as final exams are done, I'm hoping to look into moving my game to Monogame and hopefully being able to export Linux/OSX versions. Unfortunately, that's still 4-5 days away, unless I can squeeze in the porting amid studying over the weekend.

Markavian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:58pm

So, killing the blobs is actually really important, and once I'd figured that out... it was fun, for a time, but then it got really dull again because then I had to paint over the entire map.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice mechanics. It was a bit of a pain to get the last pixels, becaus the game started to run extremely slow from one moment to the other. I had just 1/4 stripe left, so I dont think its about the drawing. It seemed so start bugging out, as the music stopped. Maybe restarting the audio-track caused the problems. However, I liked it. Good entry!

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Very cool game :D

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:26am

Novel idea. Perhaps start with a smaller space and less enemies? My first time it took me > 7 minutes. Yes, I suck :)

Great job on your first Ludum Dare! (It was my 1st time too!)

burtlo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:43am

After defeating the last scrubber it really feels like a lot of busy work to paint the entire screen black.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:17am

Cool idea and I think you executed it fairly well.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:55am

There's a neat idea here somewhere, but in practice, I didn't see it on display here.

I have to ask--is there any reason to NOT attack the enemies? Because I immediately started running over the enemies while spamming the spacebar to get rid of them all as soon as possible, which I did. But then I wonder--why require you to press spacebar? Why can't they just be killed by me touching them?

And then I'm left with a board of white which I then, line by line, have to paint black. This is very, very boring, at least to me. Same reason I didn't care much for Farming Simulator 2013 (though I know others did). It wouldn't be any better if there were still enemies--it would just be frustrating on top of tedious.

I'm sure something could be done with leaving trails and enemies/player affecting each other's trails, but just painting the screen doesn't work well at all, in my opinion.

Visuals were fine and music was good, though.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:44am

The reason you're required to press the space bar is because missing an enemy incurs a time penalty. Removing that aspect would ruin that part.

And yeah, it is fairly boring after you clear them out. That was something that I realized about halfway through development, but never did come up with a fix for. Part of me wanted to break this up into various levels and throw in some obstacles or new enemy types, and part of me thought implementing an online leaderboard would at least provide incentive to beat other people, but I didn't have time for either of those to be implemented, unfortunately.

So, I can't blame you for getting bored. My main goal here was to finish. This was my first Ludum Dare, my second game, and my first game made with graphics or with XNA; so I just told myself to get something done.

Thank you very much for taking the time to play it though, and thanks for the critique as well.

And actually, I just thought of another mechanic that might have made this game much more bearable. Oh well; too late.

Doublecaster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Otherwise really good game except after playing a while it starts lagging alot.

free_napalm says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I think everything has been said. Nice at first, then it becomes a lawnmowing-like experience.
I hope "Sympathy for the Devil" will be your next LD title, could be a great game ;)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:42am

I agree with everything on the boringness/lawnmowing. Personally, I would have made it so that you only have to paint something like 80% black, and randomly spawned new enemies throughout the game. I also thought touching them and then pressing space was a rather boring way to kill them.

The graphics are oddly very good looking in their simplicity.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Neat idea! Nice game, well done!

May 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

Combat was neat, and the chunks of black being erased looked neat, but after defeating enemies it was too tedious. Perhaps taking out combat and making winning be based on how much you can get black, or keep black.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]