April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Psychodelic Disco Maze

by admund - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about a drunken student who is in the club "Psychodelic Disco Maze". We must come to the bar for a beer (green square). We must avoid the ugly girls that want to kiss us (red square). There are also other people who block us (other colors squares).

//-----------------------------------------------------//

SPACE to start/reset

WASD or Arrows to move

avoid RED obstacles

GREEN is your target

necessarily turn on the music!!! :)

//-----------------------------------------------------//

Have Fun :)
Leave a comment :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#201Humor2.92
#512Audio2.77
#767Mood2.67
#898Innovation2.66
#980Fun2.50
#1037Overall2.69
#1105Theme2.88
#1197Graphics2.13

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very fiddly controls with the constantly changing collision boxes... Very tricky...

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I had a bug when my first game started, intro screen was still here masking the game. After that other games was ok. I had som fun playing your game, there's two strategy, just looking at short range around you trying to detect sure black square or taking a larger look at the maze and figure out the 3 differents maze as a whole. It really change your perception of the game. I like the base idead.

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

Minimalistic disco for the win!

Diventurer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

Haha, very hard!
Nice idea.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Minimalistic, not bad. Liked the scream and the music, flashing lights make it kinda psychedelic...
Did you use any features of the trial version of UNITY PRO or is that just a coincidence ?!? :)

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Ow, my eyes.
I like the idea of obstacles you can only see some of the time, but I can't play this for long without getting a headache.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

A game which gets harder when there is less flickering. Quite funny :) Potato-yay-arrrg sound effects scored you humor points. ;)

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I'm on Windows but tried the web version and couldn't actually do anything - as soon as I pressed a key it was game over.

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I wouldn't recommend this for an epileptic.

m64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Ouch... my eyes! Brilliant in its simplicity.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Oh god, my eyes, my BRAIN! Nice little game, though the sensory overload was a bit... overbearing. Nonetheless, interesting concept, I will have to play some more after getting some sleep or something :)

(sending you back to level 1 after dying in later levels was very devious!)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

A nice and simple idea but still challenging. Well done.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Very fun game! Psychodelic indeed! good job!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:14am

A little buggy but I love the overblown and colorful visuals!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:02pm

That potato made my day! LoL Nice game!

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Full points for humour :) The game was actually quite fun and interesting.

bvanschooten says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:08am

Gameplay is simplistic, but it's funny. Avoiding the flashing objects is an interesting perceptual experience.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]