April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Velocibox

by invi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***************
UPDATE: Now hosting the webplayer on Dropbox. Should be working fine now.
***************

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=RRBiMDh22YM

===============
About
===============

Velocibox is a run til you drop score-chaser with a flippin' twist! That is you'll have to flip your way around deviously colorful blocks coming towards you at highspeeds! Or is it Velocibox the one moving? Velocibox doesn't know anymore. Find out when you rescue all the princesses at the end of the game! (Just kidding)



===============
Instructions
===============

Avoid blocks. Some block sets must be avoided using a flip at the right time. That's it. Good luck!



===============
Controls
===============
Use the arrow Keys to move. Left and right to move around. Press up to flip to the opposite plane.



===============
Post-Mortem
===============

Velocibox was originally intended to be a polarity shift game where you would have to shift colors and collect corresponding blocks. However, doing so was going against the theme. In the end, avoidance seemed to be more exhilarating.

The extra point pickups were only added at the very end. The primary purpose of the pickup wasn't actually to give additional points and set skillful players apart from the others, but to encourage players to move around the environment more. Pickups are littered around the side walls to encourage players to take more dangerous routes and experience more perspective changes, thus giving more focus to the core mechanics of the game.

Minimalism wasn't such a bad theme after all. My only regret is that I did not make the pickups potatoes.



===============
Tools Used
===============

Unity3D Pro(C#), Monodevelop, NGUI, Autodesk Maya 2010, Adobe Photoshop CS6, BFXR, Goldwave, FL Studio, BMFont, FRAPS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#36Fun3.87
#77Overall3.83
#137Graphics3.82
#266Mood3.24
#336Audio3.07
#354Theme3.75
#444Innovation3.26
#778Humor1.94

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27am

Quite challenging, but I'm really liking the abstractness...

Kalinka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

problem with unity web player : invalid date file

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

check your entry? giving a error.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

I liked the challenge, I kept thinking "okay, i got this, this time it'll be easy" but still managed to mess my runs up. Very cool :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

wow, cool game, but pretty hard!

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

The webplayer won't work on Firefox for some reason. If you're having trouble loading the game, try switching to IE or Chrome :) Not sure what's causing the invalid data file error.

Thanks for playing!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Invalid Data File in Chrome.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

Pretty cool, pretty simple. The web version is broken but the windows build works.

crazynito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Data file is corupt :/

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

"invalid data file" here too. will come back later :)

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Very fun and challenging. Looks very polished too...I really like the camera flipping effect.
One thing: maybe the game would get easier if the camera was positioned a little closer in angle to the floor. It's hard to judge heights sometimes.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Web player isn't working in Chrome for me either.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Just getting
"invalid data file" here too. will come back later :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

I'm getting an error when trying to play.

"Data file is corrupt (not a Unity Web Player file)"

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Hell yeah! The simple graphics and sound are just enough to get the speed across. It's wicked hard though. Great little game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Nice infinite runner!

I like the contrast with the white world, adn teh fish-eye is interesting, although it gave me a headache on my second run.

I think the speed could use some tweaking, it starts you off incredibly quickly. Also when you switch to the right side I think the camera does a 270°-turn to the left.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

Really good!
My only complaint is that when you rotate to the wall on the right it rotates -270 instead of 90... you end up in the same place, but it is needlessly disorientating.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

Wow, that really makes you think fast! Fun game though.

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Really liked this. My highscore was 850, which probably isn't all that good, but it took a while to get. Very smooth experience and the music and graphics both fit together very well.

I don't know if it's a bug or not, but when I move to the far right and it causes a rotation, it appears to rotate 270 degrees the opposite direction to get there are opposed to 90 degrees in the right direction. The other side doesn't exhibit this behavior. When that would happen it was a little disorienting and usually cause me to die.[Was using the Windows build]

Great entry and very enjoyable!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21am

the camera transitions gave me a headache, but it was addicting enough to keep my playing.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Had a lot of fun with this one.

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Awesome, very trippy.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great work. This has that "just one more go" feel down perfectly!

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12am

very nice, but the difficulty to start with is high. the ability to go up the walls can lead to unintended screen flips for the user who wanted to stay on the wide floor/ceiling.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

Yes! I love these kind of games! Excuse me I'll be playing this for a while.
Few things though, sideways movement feels a little slow, it's challenging to get to safety when your in the middle with 2 lengthy bars on the bottom and top incoming.
Also mouse based movement would go great with this!

silvurdir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

The game is simple yet fun. Keep up the good work!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Dang this is fun, got to 920 before I had to rest my unblinked eyes. Do you have a library of obstacle setups that you procedurally shuffle in? I got used to certain patterns of obstacles that made it really fun to re-play. Excellent work, this is really fun.

dracomagna says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

This remind me of a mission in F-Zero GX. Nice work !

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Apart from the -270 rotation instead of 90 in some places, cool game. Addicting, too. "Just one more, I know I can do better"...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Really liked it. :)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

One of the best games I've played in this game jam

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Really innovating

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Very nice - feels relatively complete little game for a 48hr game. :) Quite challenging. I find the vertical flip disorienting, but I guess that's the point. :)

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Wow, really cool. Amazing visuals and very smooth gameplay!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Good fun... I'm really bad at it, but that's me not the game. very fun to die over and over in horrible crashes...

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Trippy, nicely polished, lots of nice details. Good work here.

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

that was a lot of fun. very well polished. good work!

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

It's so trippy! <3

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

Fun and challenging. It is a bit disorienting the way the camera transitions when going onto the right wall.

dapierce says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

Great expression of minimalism--the speed, the rotation and spinning between planes feels very visceral because of the simple graphics and smooth camera animation.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

I love the arcade feel of this game. The types of obstacles are entertaining, and loved riding up on the walls. Nice work.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

cool! Pretty hard but fun and a bit addictive.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

this game is ... super cool.
The rythm and pacing of the game are nicely done, there's a good flow when playing a few seconds.
I just found the horizontal move a bit slow when you see an obstacle at the last moment.

Great job overall :D

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03pm

too fast because I#m so tired :) But this is a very stylish game

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:44am

This is going in my top 10 for sure

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Really nice game, but really hard as well :) Well done, definitely one of the best games I've played so far.

Zemmi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Fun game, I replayed a bunch trying to beat that highscore in the screenshot you posted but only got 880. I guess the camera rotation adds to the challenge but personally I would have preferred a fixed camera since you can see all the walls anyway and the rotation was extremely disorienting for me. Wicked entry

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:57pm

The flipping was very disorientating, which was cool. You did well to make an infinite runner interesting. The visuals were nice and the audio was fitting if not a little "safe".

reverso13 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Challenging game. Great work!!

JokerDen says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:21am

It's hard like hell! But I liked it.

Entity2D says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Very addictive game. I love the graphical style.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Quite difficult but awesome graphical effects!

Ragzouken says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:37am

I love this aesthetic. Game is pretty good, but it feels like the camera sometimes rotates the long way round to meet your orientation? Quite disorienting!

paulmcgg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nice style, quick restart. Good job.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Wow, very fun. The sense of speed is quite good. Perhaps the image curvature helps convey that.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Excelent entry, very challenging but fun!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:11am

It's looking kinda insane, bit incredibly addictive =)
Good work!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:01am

Except the fact that the background music made me think about someone brushing his teeth, this game was REALLY FUN TO PLAY. Jumping is a tricky move since the camera inverse left and right :o

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Velocity is an awesome game and is aptly named.
Sound and graphics are very immersive and dynamic.
Very very very good entry.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Jeez, this is one tough game. I love the concept, I think a speed ramp up is needed. My inability to get further won't taint the rating though!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:03am

Fun! My two complaints are that the camera sometimes rotates the long way around (270 degrees), and that it would be nice if it started out a little easier and got harder as it went on. The graphics and concept are great, and it's fun to play too.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:53am

Pretty hard. Nice effects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]