April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chao Ab Ordo

by ZeroDivide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Maintain order on the board for as long as you can before it inevitably devolves into chaos!

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move, Space to instill order.



My first Ludum Dare entry. In retrospect, I am rather displeased with it; the idea seemed better in theory than in practice.

KNOWN BUG: sometimes, upon hitting Space, the block doesn't turn back to grey, just stops switching colors. I couldn't find the cause of the bug, so it remains in the finished game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#395Fun3.16
#494Innovation3.19
#680Theme3.41
#756Humor1.96
#758Overall2.98
#889Mood2.55
#968Graphics2.51
#1047Audio1.47

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:33pm

pretty fun

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Don't be too strict with yourself. Take the lessons you learned into the next compo. That's what LD is for.

I think the game isn't that bad. It is a bit unclear what leads to chaos (beside that it's inevitable) which makes it hard to derive some kind of strategy.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

The disaster comes so fast... but it's cool

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

If only it had some sounds to help with user feedback, the game would be great. Nice mechanics though!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

I like how fast this ramps up, and how it quiets down once you manage to clean up the last flashing piece. There's a very nice rhythm to it.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Good idea, but I couldn't see any "strategy" to stop the spread.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Liked it! Very simple idea and executed well. I think had you added some sound (unless I just can't hear it) it could have added to the panic when things suddenly go wrong!
I did get to a point where I could manage the remaining blocks ongoing. Generally though I thought it was very cool.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Thank you for the encouraging comments! As for the strategy, here is some explanation: the appearance of chaos is largely random, but the way it works isn't. If left unchecked, the affected block begins to flash faster and faster, then explodes, leaving static behind and immediately spreading chaos to the four surrounding blocks. So always focus on the most agitated block first and try to keep them from exploding.

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Hey, this is the most fun game I've played so far. Don't be displeased! I like how it speeds up and eventually becomes uncontrollable. For some reason I still want to contain the chaos! If you could find the cause of that bug though, it'd really help!

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Not bad but is very hard and frustrating complete the game

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

It's a good idea.

+1 sound

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I love how the pace of the game ramps up. It really got my heart beating!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

This is fun. One time I managed to get it cleaned up completely when over half the board was cleared, but after pausing for a second and coming back, it exploded, so I lost anyways. :P

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I am stressed out after playing this...It's a good stress though!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

It's fun for a while, but when the situation gets bad it really gets bad. :D
(For some reason the game didn't show up on Chrome, but worked when I tried with Firefox.)

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Not bad for a 48h game. A score would help make it more interesting!

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

it's a great concept for sure.
but there's a point in the game where everything slows down and I ended up with doing nothing to make the game end.
spend some more time on the difficulty curve, and you have an awesome game ;)

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

Hahaha, this is pretty cool. I'd describe it as a 'sinking-ship simulator'.

I don't think I'd play it more than once as it kind of feels like luck, but the experience is interesting all the same.

As for pointers - mouse control might have made the game feel a little fairer, and I think it's a mistake to make the game-over screen disappear when you press space - by the end of the game I was spamming space, and I totally missed my score!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I like it... impressive mania descends on player as you think you have chaos under control,then maybe you can just get it back, then... no way dude... it's gone! Good job ZeroDivide!

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I enjoyed watching the squares fill my screen and everything to go crazy.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Good game, needs sound (didn't play in firefox...). And I pushed away my score with space, too... :)

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

Congratulations on your first LD entry. Things get easier the more games you make. I like the idea here. I feel like once static arrives, though, it's basically game over, and the player can only do so much to help. Perhaps that's the goal, but I was left feeling like I didn't have much of an impact once I'd let a tile fail.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Nice concept and fun to play. It's really challenging, especially with the bug, but this could be a feature :) I would like to see the timer in the game. And maybe a second game mode with multiple levels in different grid sizes and a count down, which tells how long to hold out.

I don't think the idea is bad in practice. But I struggled with the same problem and started with an idea that I thought would be great. Sadly it wasn't, so I tried several other ones and finally came up with one that was at least a little fun :) But there are always things to improve.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:12am

not sure what i was supposed to do -- i really liked the chaos affect you created -- good effort!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:50am

Entropic Chaos vs order is a lose fight but a great idea.

Symmeteer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:22am

This is actually a lot better than you may think! I had fun racing the chaos-growth and figuring out how things worked. I would get this little fortress of gray that I could easily defend... and then the colors would suddenly invade!

My best time was 207.8 seconds.

You should definitely keep going with this - tinker with the algorithm and controls and such. I'd suggest allowing the player to move multiple tiles when holding down an arrow key so that he/she doesn't have to repeatedly press it and get carpal tunnel syndrome.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Loved iT! i just think that when it blows up, it all blows up instantly. if you loose control once, you can't restore the order. but it was very very fun!

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Interesting, but it gets crazy too fast! No need to be disappointed, it's a complete game, and uses the theme well.

nilstastic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Fun and very hard :)

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Nice concept, it went from serene to absolute madness in a short space of time. Sound would've been a bonus - from nice pure tones to whitenoise by the end haha.

Full points for theme. :)

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting idea. the difficulty curve got steep pretty quickly- would have liked to see the time counter too so I could see if I was improving :)

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Very nice use of theme. Don't be so hard on yourself. its a good game and a good entry.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Quite a fun game. Feels like the difficulty curve goes in the wrong direction, Starts off quite hard, with lots of ground to cover, and then gets easier as more blocks are taken up.

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:49am

Awesome idea I felt like a cat in laser pointer land =).

I only missed having a feedback of how well I'm doing, like a score. But alas, this way is more minimalist.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]