April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Dream of a Beam

by ocmu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**EDIT**
MAC USERS: Apparently this game doesn't work on OS/X. I'm looking into it, but there's not an ETA right now.
LINUX USERS: I also tested with Ubuntu 12.04. The applet didn't work, but the executable JAR did, so try that (click the "linux" link).

My first Ludum Dare entry blends minimalistic art and music elements to create a sometimes chaotic and sometimes tranquil environment. Part rhythm game, part bullet-hell shooter.

"Enemies abound! Minimize their existence and turn them into potato fodder! Shoot many at once for more points!! Don't get touched, they're deadly."

Hope you enjoy it! Let me know what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#79Audio3.66
#224Fun3.39
#344Overall3.39
#452Graphics3.18
#539Mood2.90
#621Innovation3.04
#680Theme3.41
#980Humor1.64

Comments

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Nice, I like what you did with music.
Shooting somehow feels off... I guess something there is just not what I am used to in similar games so expectations of shooting and result feel off but not sure...

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I got "An error has occured while running this applet. Please contact support to resolve this issue." so I couldn't run it :(

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Oh no! Can you tell me what OS you're running? Also, you might try to download the executable JAR (any of the OS downloads); sometimes the lwjgl applet loader gets finnicky about assets.

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I like the engine used. LWJGL is the leader in Java gaming.

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

you gotta tell me how to get the sound working in an applet. it wont load for me in my game.

Pretty cool game though :)

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Neat game idea! The audio was especially well done. But sometimes it seemed like the baddie cubes would spawn right on top of me...

Sab says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice game! I like the way what you do affects the music. Very unique and different! Awesome

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Sorry can't run it, how can I get it working?

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I really enjoy the basic mechanic. Seems like it has some nice potential. I appreciated the restrained graphics and sound. I do have some issues with the controls. I found the fact that I stopped when I fired to be very frustrating. And the red guys got me pretty much every time. Some polish to flesh out the experience and I think this will be a fun web game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Web version didn't work for me =/

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Quite fun, I like the music.
Controls need a bit more work, the way you stop moving when you shoot. Also I guess the enemies can spawn on top of you.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very good game !

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice novel mechanic with the beam and multiple hit bonus. Love the explosions.

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

cool game. i really like how shooting squares makes music. the particles when they die are really cool tool. I really like it. i like that you included xbox controls. the only thing is that you stop when you shoot. i think it would play better if you kept moving normally while shooting. maybe even if the beam stays behind. it was cool though. could be a lot of fun.

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

You did a graeat job with the music, man. On the gameplay side, it's a bit difficult to do all the work with only horizontal and vertical beams, but it was fun :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

Sometimes I just die on startup :( One of the better avoider games in the comp!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

I liked how the enemies changed the music, and I liked how "minimizing" multiple enemies in one shot changed the sounds.

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Nicely Done!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

That is lots of fun. Well done.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Awesome job! I especially like the music, and the risk of missing damaging my score means I won't just be able to spam firing. Only complaint is when an enemy spawns almost directly on top of you.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:45am

WOW! very original bro! nice work :D

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01am

nice particles ^-)

delfino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Looks beautiful, plays well. Great job! (Web version worked for me, I'm on chrome, Windows 7)

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

very minimalistic, cool music and yeahh i little kind of geometry wars :) Nice... but there are a few problems with the controlls ... in europe the "z" and "x" keys are miles away from each other... but i like the game... played it 5 times :)

Hegemege says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Neat graphics and nice job with the audio. The small red ones started really close sometimes, almost instakilled, but other than that, the gameplay and controls felt smooth.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02am

Nice execution! I love shooters and rhythm games, and this one was a good example of both. It reminded me a bit of a couple of Bit.Trip games. Fantastic job :)

I didn't find any problem with the controls and I'm from Europe as well, but I guess that @psychomonster is using an AZERTY keyboard layout, so I can understand his/her point.

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very nice. the game is very complete and funny.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:01am

A lot of fun and the rhythmic music was cool sounding too! I got a highscore of 13,214 in the end.

bigbazwa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:45pm

This was actually a lot of fun!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:59pm

11k first try... little orange ones did for me. Nice game... Grindy music, plink plonk too... good job

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I like the music. And the combo scoring system.

I played the Windows Jar file.

Spiridios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:10am

Loved this game! One of my favorites in the compo. The scoring mechanic was great. It felt a bit like a rhythm game the way the sounds worked and I think you should build that in. Like getting higher bonuses for shooting on the beat. Great job!

May 11, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Fun game. Particularly liked the aesthetics of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]