April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel-Space

by kayp - Jam Entry

This is a mindless shooter I made over the weekend. I went along with the theme, and I believe it turned out pretty well.

Total Gameplay Time: 15-20 Minutes.

Cheers,
Requires Java 6 or higher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Mood(Jam)3.11
#230Overall(Jam)3.26
#250Graphics(Jam)3.30
#259Theme(Jam)3.29
#266Fun(Jam)2.91
#386Audio(Jam)2.29
#452Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

rpar372 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

Awesome! It's like Wolfenstein without the nazis.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Nice game, even the graphic well done! :D

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Is this naked nazis raptors ?

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Loved the retro Wolfenstein aesthetics! Good job!

Kyle Smith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I'm a sucker for the classic Wolfenstein3D look. It's very easy to get lost though. Overall well done.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I enjoyed it but there is very little to do other than mindlessy shooting stuff :)

Spanfile says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

The audio bugged out in one spot and the enemies are kinda weak, you can evade them with ease.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I tried basing it more around a maze game, the enemies are there for fun :). There's not a lot you can do with the minimalism theme.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice old-school shooter mazes, they bring back memories :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I feel that the Rage level (if the player dumps on the rooms full of enemies enemies like I did) completely changes the rest of the game in an extremely interesting way that shows an incredible depth of pacing. Was this intentional? Great job either way.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Some maps were more FPS oriented (Such as Rage), and some maps were more Maze oriented (Such as Creeper). I didn't one any real gameplay, but I wanted the player to progress as he/she went on.

Also, if you are wondering why Creeper has such a strange name, here is the map design I used for it: http://i.imgur.com/LJHdlPX.png (You might have to zoom in).

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Fun game, I really like the oldschool raycaster style graphics.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Pretty cool that you made a raycasting engine in 72 hours. The concept could use a little bit of work other than that. Its pretty good. Nicely done!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

good, solid attempt

WiseGAMER says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game, I liked the art :)

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Fun, was sad when I ran out of potatoes to shoot. :P

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Ahh, reminds me of my first shooter Ken's Labyrinth :O

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]