April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Employment

by Fabien Porée - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello. This is my game about jobs and unemployment in the 21st century. I think I like it and I hope you like it too!

I lifted a lot of raycasting code from this excellent page: http://lodev.org/cgtutor/raycasting.html
I'm also using M. Rijks's GM Bassmod extension for Game Maker. http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=353936

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#294Humor2.67
#452Mood3.02
#756Audio2.37
#794Innovation2.81
#976Theme3.07
#1095Graphics2.30
#1127Overall2.57
#1268Fun1.94

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I don't get it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Truly bizarre. The left arrow key stopped working during month three though.

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Had a little trouble in the beginning because I missed the receptionist (kinda hard to see her) but after that it was just full flow forward.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Not that much to do with the compo theme (aside from presentation), but an interesting game on its own. Shame you did not manage to get sprites in.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

stopped working on the second aptitude test, the banana wouldnt move

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

not sure if i get it. the grafics are a bit too minimal

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

CiderPunk, that shouldn't happen! Anyone else with banana problems?

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Requires a lot of imagionation, but still fun.

drstik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Does a surprising amount with very little, which is exactly what the them is about IMO. You might want to avoid having the escape key close the game without warning though ;)

kyru says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Interesting game. I'm not sure if the movement keys not working was part of the game, but it made it more difficult to get places quickly so it added something to it.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Your dream job: writer

This is an interesting concept and I like that it has both a story and some minigame-type things. Not being able to see objects made it pretty difficult to make sense of, at times. Finding a potted plant felt like discovering a great secret. Would be interested to see a more fleshed-out version in the future!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

For me this game perfectly captured the depressing feeling in the employment office. The idea is interesting, but it's boring, sorry.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Nice take on the current job market! As other people have said, the left mouse button doesn't work in month three, making it very difficult to complete.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice, I like the suggestion of space by the simple architecture and the text

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

So the left arrow now working in month 3 is intentional?

Anyway, says exactly what I think you wanted it to say about the inanity of going to the Job Centre.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice game. Really enjoyed it. Only issue was that I had to kill the game through task manager after I closed the window.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Upped your score after reading the comments and replaying, was rather nice.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

So after a few months the left key started not working. I failed to get if it was a bug or because of a low morale, or something else? The game really plays well with the Theme, although a little more explanation would have been nice. :)

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

i couldn't really get anywhere other than wandering around the building. i like the idea of the game telling you stuff is there when it's not there visably. maybe a map screen would've helped that idea out, though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

Well, that was weird.
Finished the game.
Is it intentional that the left key stops working in month 3?
Made the game hard to complete, but I did it anyway!

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

ella guro: all you need to do to advance the game is check in at reception, straight in front of the entrance. [Press Space!]

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Also alright I'll stop with the coyness for a second--yes, it's intentional, but don't tell anyone! :)

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Very interesting, love the music!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This game was strangely amusing - the disability in month three was really interesting too :P Really gave that sense of the system being stacked against you.

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Interesting game. Concept is great and text and music and text is very nice. I like green wall color, it's pretty.

AlanZucconi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Yes. This game is bizarre indeed! :D

Fabien Porée says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:51am

Is it?
I'm having second thoughts and thinking this might be far too obvious and straightforward :3

Fabien Porée says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:53am

game sucks: not nearly as inflammatory as it should have been

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:53am

Was everything but the walls suppose to be invisible?

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:07am

That was pretty funny: the emptiness, raycasting 20 years later, the music, the broken keys. However not being able to slide against the walls was a bit annoying, especially in month 3... I stopped (lost) there after trying twice to reach the office and failing.
(Ran with Wine under Linux.)

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:27pm

The left and bottom arrow keys stopped working three months in, making this impossible to play. Was alright for the most part, I did enjoy the presentation style but it did feel a bit lacking in terms of feedback and finding things.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I don't know why you raycasted the walls in such a weird way :P But otherwise, I'm a fan of raycasting :D Just add sprites.

Really hard to see everyone :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]