April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lifebloom

by Hologuardian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD Movement
Click to attack
Executable JAR
Timelapse of the development process. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vy7Nsjkj4LQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#753Innovation2.88
#957Graphics2.53
#984Theme3.06
#1169Overall2.50
#1231Fun2.06
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I couldn't run this on OSX:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: lifebloom/com/LifebloomMain : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

@Julian you might need a newer java version.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Interesting growing mechanism.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really interesting concept and gameplay.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Also crashes on launch for me.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Same here : Crash at startup :(

May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I didn't quite grasp the controls, when and why do you attack? It felt as if there was too much delay from pressing the mouse button to something actually happening, and I missed some audio feedback. hm.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:35pm

For some reason it took ages for things to show up for me to attack.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:11am

It's a little prone to issues. Had trouble booting it up.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Interesting concept. It ran for me (on Windows) but I'm afraid I didn't really understand the combat mechanism. Also it seemed that there were sometimes really long gaps between anything appearing. That said, it's an interesting mechanic so well done.

StMatn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:14am

Very interesting concept. I really like the visuals. The game was a bit slow for me (gameplay, not fps), but maybe its inteded to be slow paced, or I was doing something wrong. All in all cool game!

infinitedog says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice game, I didn't understand too much at the beginning but I enjoyed it :P.

Maybe a bit of music will improve your game and make me play more :)

May 16, 2013 @ 5:13am

Had to wait a long time for other things to show up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]