April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy the Unnecessary

by monosacharride - Jam Entry

1st Ludum dare Project. Gameplay sort of almost adequate. Music is generally awful and cuts out every 3 seconds, but watcha gonna do?
Tools: GM Studio Free, Garageband
Genre: Puzzlish
Update: Controls changed, now slightly less asinine.
Music removed.
Update 2: If someone actually plays this if you beat level 5 the game won't stop, so just close the window.
Update 3: Mo' levels mo' gimmicks
Update 4: Link is fixed i think. if there are further problems please comment. also yes the 4 archive thing is slightly silly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#265Humor(Jam)2.16
#418Fun(Jam)2.47
#428Audio(Jam)1.86
#448Overall(Jam)2.67
#484Mood(Jam)2.18
#507Graphics(Jam)2.23

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Weird control scheme, takes awhile to get a hang of. Really unique beat-em-up / puzzle. Shame you couldn't get the music flowing better.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Good puzzle, i like the retro style, you need to open tutorial first, to understand how to play

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I don't have windows :(

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

It was a bit tough starting this game. Why do you need five archives for the game, one would probably do as well.

Even with a tutorial it is quit hard to understand. The controls feel a bit strange.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

sorry, I was using gm studio free and it has a 5 room limit.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I like the mechanic, could have definitely used the separate "tutorial" as the first real level to let people know what the controls are.

Dax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

On question: why is the .exe with different names while the data has the same. when you unzip everything, you have 5 times the same exe and 1 game data.
Anyway that was not bad.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

you should use gamemaker 8: http://www.auntiepixelante.com/?p=1240

neat little minimal puzzle game. i think the mechanics could be a little simpler, but it works ok.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

Nice game! :)

But I think it could have done without the pink square...
After you get it, you can simply clean the entire stage and hit the red ones directly...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Short, sort of interesting, though very limited and a sort of one-trick pony. Not bad for your first attempt, though.

Fenyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Couldn't really run it, sorry.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I couldn't figure out how to download it! When I downloaded the .exe I found, it opened up a 'choose file' menu. :L Try using dropbox.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

Not bad, not bad at all. Got a little stale - you didn't really have to approach each puzzle in a new way, just move around until you got it. The punching sound needs to be a little less jarring - I literally jumped the first time I heard it.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30am

Pretty unique puzzle game. Nice and simple controls but still creating challenge.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14am

I wish that this game was called "Destroy the Monosacharride". That's all I can think every time I see the listing.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Can't play, have a mac.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

It took me quite a while to figure out what to do, and even after I understood the goal of the game I never really "got" it. Some blocks move randomly, some only with the player and some are indirectly controlled by the player but it all feels very random.
All in all its a cool little concept but needs a bit more polish.
Anyway, grats for finishing!

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Original and entertaining :).

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Notes:

- Weird archive setup. Should have made one archive with all of the levels.
- Okay, I see the mechanic. This could be cool.
- Most of these are easy to do if you push the block all the way to the other side.
- I destroyed all of the red, but the level hasn't changed. I guess that is the end of 1-5? Time for 6-9.
- Still easy.
- Blue block. That's more like it.
- Time for 10-13.
- Green is a bit wacky, but I can see how this could be expanded.
- Time for 14-16. Wait, there's supposed to be music? I am only hearing the block-destroy effect.
- I am destroying everything. This seems unfocused.

You should definitely expand on this and give more audiovisual feedback to the player.

Things I would change:

- Needs more audio. Player movement? What if the player tries to destroy but doesn't hit anything?
- Larger levels? Could go ring-wise down to the core of the level as you destroy layers (using whatever mechanic there is).

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Cool game, sometimes a little strange, but I like it :)

goerp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I very minimalistic puzzler indeed. For me the controls would have been clearer if there was some movement of the pieces.

I didn't hear any music on any of the zips? The karate chop I heard, so the sound was working :)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

glbs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Hello your file seems no longer to be online, your game seems interesting you should upload it back!

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Your file is gone! I was looking forward to playing this :c

kingsman142 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:59pm

File is gone. This games looks cool, I wish I could play it.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:09pm

File not found

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Strangle little game, a bit hard to grasp at first, but it nails the theme well :D

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:35am

Interesting!

May 4, 2013 @ 1:50am

By level 12, it really did get challenging! Very intriguing game :) I do agree that having numerous files to unzip inside a zipped file was kinda annoying, but I understood the tutorial perfectly fine. The P key was hysterical, btw!

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice game, love the concept well done ! :D

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Interesting idea! And fits the theme well. The zip in zip is a little complicated though. Maybe it's possible to put everything in one zip and use a simple batch file to start the different levels.

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The way you have it broken up into multiple zip folders was really irritating. The game itself was alright.

Fnkee says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:24am

Fun game, but would love to see more challenges! Once I got the purple block I could just go bananas on all blocks in order to win. Still, interesting concept, and pretty innovative and minimalistic. Good job!!

May 11, 2013 @ 3:36pm

A little difficult to wrap the head around but once I got the hang of it, twas pretty fun. :D

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Dont really like that the game is divided in multiple zipped exe files within a zip. (But I won't rate you for that.)

The game concept is quite good :) I like how you have to solve puzzles to splat the unnecessary.

Harsay says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:28am

There should be more levels but in one file :D
Minimalistic and innovative. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]