April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mimisi (Minimalistic minimalism simulation)

by Aron - Jam Entry

Used Tech:
- Slick/LWJGL

Update 1.1 (all versions and source updated):
- food is now shown as
FOOD IN SILOS (TOTAL AMMOUNT OF FOOD)
Remember that only the food in silos is eaten by your villagers!
- fixed a bug with the timer (Round ended at 10 minutes every time!)

My first entry to a LD contest. Had to cut the gameplay down and introduce some kind of highscore system. Excuse the bad programmer art.

It's a little settlers-like simulation game where you tell your people where to build what. They will starve if you haven't enough food in your silos (each person needs 2 food every 15 seconds).

There are 8 different buildings in this game of wich you can build 7 by yourself.

Houses to raise the population cap and allow it for net people to be born.
Farms providing fields for grain and wool for toolmaking.
Mills converting grain into food.
Mines providing stones for building and ore foor toolmaking. They can only be build near the mountain in the middle.
Lumberjack producing wood.
Smith making 1 tool out of 2 ore and 1 wool.
Silo the main storage for food (very important) and the only source where food counts as accessible to eat for your people.

Hints: Build 2-3 Silos, 1 Farm, 3 Mills fast to rescue your population from starving at the beginning.

You may use my sourcecode for learning purposes (although I don't think it is well structured or even good commented). Maybe there are some classes that are of use for you (especially the LayeredMap,Map,Chunk,RefreshableList classes wich I borrowed from my main project "Gliese 581 d").

I know I would have had one day more for the jam, but I reaaaally have to study tomorrow so this is the final form of my LD26 entry.

INFO: You need the most recent version of Javas JRE ( http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html ) to run this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#251Theme(Jam)3.32
#253Humor(Jam)2.24
#283Innovation(Jam)2.93
#349Overall(Jam)2.93
#393Mood(Jam)2.56
#447Graphics(Jam)2.55
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

Hey, you said this was a LD48 entry but you entered for the jam regardless. Was it an accident?

And, whoa. It looks like a very simple simulation, but it felt like it had a lot of detail. Why won't my town grow? They don't have enough food. Okay, I built mills and silos, and I have 22 people, but why aren't you making any tools? Well, everybody is busy making food!

I had fun with it. I got... a score of 470 in a ten minute match I think.

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

It's not a LD48 entry because I took code from other projects and I thought it wouldn't be right to enter the LD48 with it.

TeamSleipnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cozy little game. Wished it had a few more features such as small progress bars but I guess it would go against the theme.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I suck at this a whole lot, but it's quite a bit of fun. My guys kept dying! I guess this is why I sucked at the Sims.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I ran the Jar.

Finding the balance to keep the little guys alive is really tricky. They keep starving...I think I tend to overbuild too quickly and then not have enough workers.

Other than that, it's a fun little city builder.

Fervir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

The game was really fun, but it seems like the AI kinda stinks at prioritizing survival. I worked my people to death by building a lot of buildings at once even though my population was on the rise at the time.

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

The game feels right and it's interesting and entertaining to watch. I enjoyed playing this entry and figuring out a successful strategy. Once I got the hang of it, it turned out to a nice casual game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

A nice game, a little hard to stay interested because of a little lack of polish. Otherwise it's quite a good game. Nice one!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

Hey, are you building some kind of space population sim? :3

Aron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

@Zim: Yes, but i am still in a very realy stage (and want to move my code to libgdx). It's planned as a Outpost2 type of game with some more micromanagement of your crew.

Argembarger says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Reminds me a bit of Breaking the Tower, although we need more of these.

Got down to 2 population before I realized I needed a silo, and had some fun watching the population slowly climb back up from disaster.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Very nicely done, reminds me a bit of the game I made, good to see other people making management games :D

StMatn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:01am

Nice game. I like those bustling littel people. Reminds me a little bit of "The settlers". Nice simutatin. Good job!

Aron says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Thank you =)

gosferano says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:41pm

It was hard to understand what these "cheese rolls" mean, or what are the red squares for.

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:05am

Despite being a little hard after a while (maybe I didn't caugth the best strategy), I enjoyed it. :P I would definitely play again, if you were to polish this a little more!

tariflognib says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:28am

It could have been better if the ai was better

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:21am

my dudes kept dying -- nice job

Harsay says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Nice idea but I felt a little bit lost.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]