April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Son of a Witch

by outerheaven182 - Jam Entry

Son of a Witch is a Small 3 Level Demo of a Game I put together for the Jam. The game is Mostly in Black and White and only certain Objects of Importance are In Color which is how the Game sticks to the Theme of the Jam.

I used the Corona SDK to create it and used Lua Code but because I used Corona there is no Webplayer because Corona doesnt have one! So I have uploaded the .apk file to the Link Given for Android Phones or An APK Emulator that will run it on your Laptop/PC. Sorry for the Hardship but if any of you guys can playtest it give it a go! If you can play have a look at the Youtube Video of Gameplay and the Screenshot I uploaded.

I enjoyed Making it so Have a Look if you can. I think I may improve on it over time and add to it and make it into a complete and Finished Game.

http://youtu.be/2UJhBTs4l-E

Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#377Audio(Jam)2.36
#433Mood(Jam)2.41
#505Fun(Jam)2.13
#510Overall(Jam)2.40
#528Innovation(Jam)1.88
#561Theme(Jam)1.88
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

Interesting

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

sorry i cannot run this -- anyway you can make a version that runs on another platform?

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

How did you manage to build android APK in iPhone simulator? hehe
Well, it's nice you made a story and let the player make some "moral decisions", but the actual game seemed a little lame...
It's tricky to make a "jetpack joyride" gameplay when the character need to advance on the screen, because there is no time to avoid the enemies.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

Love the sound when she hits the bats. Rarrgaagh!!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:28am

@FaBrito : Depending on how one makes an Android app, you can use various tools for it. I've used Cocos2D-x, a C++ version of Cocos2D, which will create binaries that can run on both iOS and Android. It's easier to debug and test such builds on the iOS simulator than in Eclipse / Android Emulator because the tooling for such things is pretty well integrated into XCode while it isn't really well supported in the Eclipse + Android Emulator scenario.

oborux says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:07am

Nice theme :-)

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Art is nice, but game is absolutely generic and boring.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Nice artwork, and good thing there was a link to youtube xD. Anyway, the game fits the theme well, but the game is a little short.

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:14am

I could only judge by the video.
It seems very funny, the graphics and the sound were well matched but I didn't get the minimalims part.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]