April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life in a nutshell

by Pixelfan Games - Jam Entry

Controls:

Direction arrows : Movements
A: Primary Attack
S: Secondary Attack
D: Block with shield
R: Skip Intro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#251Audio(Jam)2.98
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#332Mood(Jam)2.74
#362Humor(Jam)1.80
#485Innovation(Jam)2.14
#519Fun(Jam)2.07
#519Overall(Jam)2.37
#539Theme(Jam)2.22

Comments

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

Some characters are well designed, others are not. So graphics in general is inconsistent.
The overall is fully playable and it's interesting to point out that so much stories have the same minimalistic plot.
Collisions are imprecise and when you fight an ennemy you don't really know if you hit or not, until he disappears, perturbating.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48am

Do the two levels keep looping? I was able to get through each areas once.. those fireballs are a pain though... :) It would be nice to see more of a difference between some of the enemy types and to have a more apparent difference between the primary and secondary attacks.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

Lotusgame sorry about this, this is our first Jam, the time come so fast and we have a lot of bugs and problems in the last day, maybe next time we can improve this. thanks for your comment anyway, we must try to do a good job in the next time :)

Leginar: we try to create a Secondary attack but....we have a lot of bugs with IA. I hope in the next LD we can improve this. We create this enemys too fast and dont have a lot of time for do it. Thanks for your comment :D

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Audio and intro was great, it created some hype.
But gameplay needs balance and some goal.
Keep on! I hope to see you in next LD

Patacorow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Very unique game!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29pm

In the first level crouching doesn't protect you and seems to be useless. In the beginning of the second level is a bug where the player gets stuck facing an enemy and can't move or attack anymore. In this state the game isn't really playble.
The graphics are well drawn and the music is awesome and adds much to the atmosphere.

littleball says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

It's got the beginnings of a great game. The controls could do with some work. I would like to see you push this further in the future. Keep up the good work!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:54am

I couldn't get past the loading screen for some reason. Firefox user.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:55am

Excellent music. Art is a bit inconsistent and the gameplay is... strange, due to the collision bugs and lack of visual feedback, especially in the second level.
But that music.... Let's FIGHT!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:56am

BarrensZeppelin is strange i am using firefox and works perfect :S

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00am

Loved the music! You've got the basics right, that's pretty cool! I rather enjoyed the introduction. Also being a Spartan :)

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Music was very atmospheric but the gameplay was lackluster, loved the sudden change of theme though, came as a pleasant surprise :D

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Sloppy controls... I got stuck in level 2 for some reason, is there a timeout or something? I've no idea of what kills me. You've got GREAT music though!

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Works fine on Firefox here. Nice game, graphics are pretty good. Thanks for the nice words about my game :)

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Requires quite big browser window =)

May 2, 2013 @ 1:59pm

control + mouse wheel down i can use that :D. Thanks for play

May 2, 2013 @ 1:59pm

you can*

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Player should be able to see character's remaining health somehow. In second level I had no idea with attacks damaged me and which I managed to deflect.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@kyyninen yeah! i fix this in the fixed version, thanks for playing :)

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Controls (especially attacking) felt awkward, but i really liked the graphics :)

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I was so excited for the idea of having different main characters for each era, but then it looped back to the first level. Nice concept though.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I got to play the game after coming home from school:

I really loved the setup, although I think the intro would have benefited from using Pixel-Perfect scaling on the man's face, instead of smoothing it out gradually, that's a personal preference though.

The gameplay was neat too, but I don't get why you implented the crouching mechanic for the white ninja, because you can't dodge anything with it q:
Playing as the greek character was a mixed experience, it was hard to know when you got hit, and when you hit something. It would have been nice to know how much HP you had left.

Good job, I wait in anticipation for your submission next Ludum Dare. (;

TehSkull says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:55am

Interesting game. Worth expanding on.

madballneek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Intriguing art design. I'd be interested to see how you could take this idea and design further. Also, high five ImpactJS buddy!

Nolojen says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:11am

nice animations, cool characters

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice intro, and good music, the gameplay wasn't great but has good potential with a bit more work.

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Lovely intro graphics and entire soundtrack. But can't get in game. No lifebar :(

May 13, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Love the intro.. but couldn't get far in the actual game.. found the controls a bit unpolished.. (you can't jump and hit or run and hit and the hit is too slow)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]