April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bell Curve

by Soundboy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first attempt at an LD or any game at all! It's sort of shit, but I'm extremely proud that I managed to finish it and include most of the aspects I planned.

The introduction/removal of aesthetic and mechanical complexity as an allegory for the lifespan of a person. Pbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Mood3.49
#358Theme3.74
#432Audio2.91
#509Overall3.21
#594Humor2.18
#699Innovation2.95
#898Fun2.61
#1116Graphics2.28

Comments

LevelXGamer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Can't even play it... :c

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

For something so simple to actually invoke an emotional response... you really hit the mark in terms of theme and mood. Well done.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

The was really powerful. Good use of theme. Congrats on completing your first LD!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Can you actually host it somewhere? Try newgrounds or kongregate, or setup an html in that drop box. Otherwise I won't be able to play it :(

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

I agree, this speeds volumes in a simple way.

Soundboy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Thanks for checking out my game guys! I'm adding a Kongregate link for those that needed another way to access it.

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Struck an emotional chord with me. Nicely done!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Very nice effort! The music and mood are great, and the 'plot' too.

A few bugs, including one that forced me to restart. I became stuck in a wall.

Overall a great little game, totally worth my time.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

The best part is the slowing down music.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

some issues with collisions, but they didn't harm the experience :) liked it!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I did not expect the ending. Well done!

Panda313 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

I liked it. Can't be more in the theme. Simple and efficient. good job.
On default, I feel like I want more, I want to explore more of the idea of playing the whole life

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Very neat, I liked how nicely the title of the game reflects the gameplay.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

Well done on changing the music. Good idea.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

Really nice, bit depressing but nice!
I loved how to music went with it as well

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

I'm really looking forward to my 50th birthday now - no one said there would be flying!

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Super simple, but really well executed. Cool idea and made me want to play right to the end :)

Webravenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

nice idea for the "story", but level design could be more intersting for much fun ;)

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Very nice game. Have to admit I remarked the 'die' feature. Then laughed at the 'fly' feature. :)
Good job!

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice overall concept. Like the idea of adding certain aspects and abilities as the game progresses (and taking them away again later on). And: wheeeee Flying at age 50! Great first entry :)

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

It was interesting to play. It felt like you put some thought into it.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Non-trivial, thought through,bug free, in theme - I can hardly believe it's your first entry! Good job! Although this is so deep it's a risky entry - some may find it too sad to rate good o,O

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice use of the theme. The music really helped the atmosphere. Interesting little game.

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Wow. Very deep. Fantastic job at adding feeling to a game while maintain "minimalism"! Grat job!

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Congratulations with finishing your first Ludum Dare! It's gameplay wise kind of basic, but I like the fact that you get- or lose features. The ageing was a great part of the game!

Good job.

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Nice simple platformer! With so sad ending :(

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Bonus points for theme and audio - the complexity of the levels and music increasing and decreasing over stages, well done. :)

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Ha... I remember when I turned 30 and my face finally grew in. This is a bit disturbing, especially the last level. But I guess that's how it goes (hopefully not at 80, though, I mean come on modern technology!). I'm really impressed overall... the levels are pretty crappy, no offense (no real challenge or anything terribly interesting to do), but the overall content and... message? I don't know... makes up for it, and makes it well worth playing through.

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Good job!

A little story most people can see in its entirety, some different (d)evolving types of movement.
And the music matched the game (good thing that the levels weren't that hard because the music could get annoying I think).

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I love the concept. put some more hours of work in polishing the graphics and you'll have a really amazing game.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:18pm

That was quite depressing, really moving and quite powerful all at once! A great contemplation on the futility of life...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]