April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Burst

by Ninjaxio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: I didn't think I could get it working, but the sounds are no longer buggy! Now you can listen to the satisfying sounds of 8-bit defeat! Score disappearing when dead is now fixed, along with the misalignment of the health bars and game in general. Thank you all for the feedback! Music also may take some time to load, but that all depends on your computer speed.

Pixel Burst - A minimalistic arcade-style game by Loring Weaver

Fly around a very pixelly city in which I paid minimal attention to detail, and shoot boring, dull people with your fun and colorful projectiles! Aim for the highest score, and survive as long as you can! Collect Rave and Slowdown powerups to keep the game going! Most importantly, GET A HIGH SCORE! I'd really appreciate if you state your highest score in the comments! Mine is currently: 70350. See if you can beat it! When you die, you have five seconds to memorize your score (or push Print Screen)!

Controls
----------
Arrow Keys: Move
Space: Shoot

Powerup List
--------------
Health - Heals you.
Rave - Large explosion, 500 points for each enemy caught in it.
Slowdown - Slows the game down, allowing for more accuracy and more time to think.

Tips
------
- Keep on the lookout for Rave powerups. The explosion caused by collecting Rave gets you 500 points for each enemy killed. This allows you to rack up points in little time. Get 10 enemies caught in the blast and that's 5000 points!
- If it helps, go on one side of the screen, shoot several bullets, then warp to the other side. This allows you easy protection and ensures you quick boosts to your score.
- If you're crowded, try warping through the top or bottom of the screen.
- Remember, bullets do not destroy themselves after they hit an enemy! Use this to your advantage, and kill 5+ enemies with a single shot!

SEIZURE WARNING: If you have had some sort of epileptic fit or seizure or experienced harmful effects from being exposed to flashing lights, colors, or images, please do not play this game. Yes, the lights may be fun and colorful, but it's not worth risking your life. If you haven't had any of the above conditions/symptoms, still take caution in playing this game, as those who have never had such a thing occur to them still have a miniscule chance of developing such a symptom. Play safe!

SPEED WARNING: This game is very fast. Okay, not that fast, but quite fast. A really fast game. Like, nowhere near as fast as Sonic the Hedgehog, but pretty close. It's more of a coffee break game, so you might need some coffee. It increases your reflexes, naturally making you more awesome. ^_^

Made in Construct 2
Music made with AntiCulture's Trance generator

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Fun3.13
#477Graphics3.13
#521Audio2.76
#548Mood2.89
#721Overall3.00
#956Theme3.09
#1153Innovation2.20
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Once I got the hang of it, it was very fun!

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Too fast, but overall nicely done!

Liikeaturtle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really cool!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

What is AntiCulture's Trance generator ?

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I'm unable to get the windows download. The file server reports that the file is under investigation. In the future you might want to put it on a server which doesn't have this limitation (like: google drive or dropbox).

Unable to rate the game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Your dropbox seems like it got cut off. Can't download the windows game.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Wow i need to drink more coffee to play this game... it is so fast... and i'm so tired.. :D Nice work, it is a funny submission

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Thanks for the comments, guys and girls! Again, I'm really sorry about the sound, maybe I can fix that in the future!

@Dark Acre Jack - At AntiCulture.net, there is a free-to-use music generator that generates a new song to download, everytime you click it.

@DevWouter, @TheSambassador - My apologies, apologies! Don't know why it's not working for you, it seems to work fine now. Just to be safe, I will switch it. Again, I apologize!

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

Alright, I've changed the file hosting to Dropbox. Again, sorry for le inconvience!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

I really like the graphics. Especially the backdrop behind the buildings. But I think everything is too fast. It's a 1 minute game at most. At least it is for me.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Pretty crazy, in a good way. Wish there was more powerups/effects to trigger.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

Controls is a little slippery, but overall I enjoyed the music and the game.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Flashing lights!
I like how you can shoot from one side of the map, switch sides, and then the bullets fly towards you^^
Also had a bug, where I was invincible and my health just kept dropping below 0.

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

@klianc09 - Eheh, thanks! And about the bug...hm, I've never encountered it before in my playtest. I'll check again, my apologies!

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

It's quite weird and stuff. Fun for a bit, but once you've seen the powerups that's all there is to it.

Nice game nevertheless!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

quite fast heh.. i liked the music and the sprites ..good job man :)

May 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

i like the game, good music, good job!

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:54pm

The controls felt very strange, but everything else was nice :) also, when the game finished, my score disappeared, so i dont know how good i was ;D

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Good game, but I found it really hard cause the character is almost impossible to control. By the way you should delete the bullets when they hit an ennemy :)

May 5, 2013 @ 3:10am

Fast and a really enjoyable game. I know which field is getting the max rating from me. A little more variety could have helped but again this being made in 2 days is impressive enough.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:13pm

The game doesn't even start :( (Mac OSX 10.8)

Ninjaxio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:07pm

@netmute - I apologize, I'm not sure if others are having the same problem or not, I have not tested the Mac version myself, due to not owning a Mac, so I'm afraid I might not be able to help you. Again, my sincerest apologies.

Ninjaxio says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:27pm

@netmute - Okay, I've been looking, and I realize I sealed the Mac version in a RAR file. That MIGHT be the problem, as RARs cannot be opened on Macs, I believe. Again, I haven't personally tested it with a Mac, so I'm not sure. I'll reupload it as a ZIP file, and cross my fingers and hope that will help. :) Again, very sorry.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Haha this game is insane! And great fun. The speed does make it all seem pretty hilarious. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]